Home > Announcements > W00t! I’m Officially A @foursquare Superuser! Thanks @BrianG416!

W00t! I’m Officially A @foursquare Superuser! Thanks @BrianG416!


Just got this email in my inbox at 8 PM tonight EST. The message inside reads as follows:

Thanks for wanting to be a foursquare Superuser. You made the cut! As a Superuser Level 1, you can help keep foursquare venues organized. You’ll find your new tools at foursquare.com/—-secret stuffs here–.

Check out the links below for how you can use your new powers for good.

House Rules: best practices for using foursquare as a community

Superuser guidelines: info on what kind of edits to make and how to use the new tools available to you

Venue Style Guide: official foursquare style for making edits and creating venues

Superuser forum on our support site: where our dedicated Superuser community chats about common questions and issues

Now get out there and edit that venue that’s been bugging you for months!

team foursquare

I am very honored to be chosen to be one of the new foursquare Superusers. Thanks so much to Brian @briang416 Gonsalves one of the first completely random people I met via Twitter during foursquare Day 2010 – we never actually made it to the Toronto celebration but we did manage to meet. He was also the only foursquare Superuser I knew and he helped me in my bid to become a Superuser – support from an existing Superuser helped push your application to the top of the pile.

I first found out about the search by foursquare for more Superusers about a week ago when I read this Aboutfoursquare blog post, “Foursquare looks to add more superusers“. From there I went to the application page at https://foursquare.com/user/upgrade and applied. I also asked Brian if he could give me an endorsement and he did – which probably helped a ton so thanks again Brian!

In writing this article I just found out that I can apply to become a Level 2 Superuser soon too! Wow! I went to the application page when I was getting the link for above and it told me this:

Hi! You were just recently upgraded to a Superuser Level 1. Continue being a model user and you can apply to be upgraded to Superuser Level 2 after 6/19/2011.

Cool beans! I promise to only use my newfound superpowers for truth, justice, and the North American way!!! I will combat misnamed and misplaced venues! Mind you, do you know of any that I should switch? Let me know in the comments and give me some proof as to the veracity of your claims and I will do like the crew of the Enterprise D and “make it so”!

  1. May 26, 2011 at 11:36 pm | #1

    Congrats!! I’ve switched from Foursquare to Gowalla because FS always craps out on me on my CrapBerry!! But when I was using FS, it’s actually miles ahead of Gowalla.

    • May 27, 2011 at 2:52 am | #2

      Thanks! If you’re using Gowalla on a different platform you can actually push your check-ins to Twitter…don’t ask why the Gowalla for BlackBerry app doesn’t do this…I don’t know.

  2. May 27, 2011 at 10:58 am | #3

    I got one! I’ve flagged it because it’s incorrectly located. Should I send you the deets? Congratulations! I expect to see many more posts on the subject. Really interesting stuff!

    • May 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm | #4

      You most definitely should. You can post it here, in public stream on Twitter or DM it to me.

  3. uno
    May 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm | #5

    whoaa fouresquare,very interesting

  4. Vince Tripp
    May 28, 2011 at 11:23 pm | #7

    Congratulations Dan, I am still waiting to hear back on my request to be upgraded. It would be nice to clean up all the duplicate venues around here..

    • June 12, 2011 at 3:20 am | #8

      Any word Vince?

      • June 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm | #9

        No, I haven’t heard anything yet. Can you fix problems that are located anywhere? I noticed a couple of duplicates this week in Barrie and Muskoka.

      • June 13, 2011 at 11:18 pm | #10

        Yup, I can. Shoot me the links.

  5. June 8, 2011 at 12:58 pm | #11

    Do you know how many check-ins do you need or how long you need to be a Foursquare user before you can even apply to become a superuser?

    I’m looking to be a super user in the montreal region. so many duplicate and mistakes in my area.

    thanks

    https://fr.foursquare.com/samstress

    • June 11, 2011 at 2:09 am | #12

      Sorry. I do not know if there is a specific number like that. Did you try following the link I provided in my post to apply to become a super user? Or you can post the locations that need editing here and I will look into them.

  6. October 23, 2011 at 8:00 am | #13

    Hi, Dan

    Every week I followed the link to the upgrade, but nothing… until a couple of days ago! I think I did it! But I just can’t wait longer for helping out cleaning the Foursquare database errors, mispellings and other stuff here in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Is it weird to ask for help to support me on becoming a SU? In fact, is it even possible for you to do this, since I don’t know if you can? Sorry if this botters you, but I really think it is fun to “play the game” on Foursquare. Thanks, already!

    • October 24, 2011 at 12:23 pm | #14

      I don’t know what I can do to help you with this Maurilio…I assume Foursquare has their reasons for accepting and rejecting different SU applicants. Alas, I am not privy to these reasons.

      • October 24, 2011 at 3:22 pm | #15

        Sure, Dan. But thank you for replying! I’ll try to be more informed about these things. Thanks again!

  7. Jason Ng
    September 26, 2012 at 11:33 pm | #16

    Can someone endorse me to become foursquare super user? here’s my Profile, foursquare.com/youjase Thanks guys. Very much appreciated!

  8. Vishal
    October 24, 2013 at 1:00 pm | #17

    Greetings friends,
    Could someone please endorse me.
    Vishal Rathod (vishrtd) on Twitter
    It’s been months since I’ve applied for superuse.
    Thanks in advance.
    Vishal

  9. Vishal
    October 24, 2013 at 1:01 pm | #18

    Greetings friends,
    Could someone please endorse me.
    http://www.foursquare.com/vishrtd
    It’s been months since I’ve applied for superuse.
    Thanks in advance.
    Vishal

  1. September 29, 2011 at 11:46 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

