Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Oh Hai @PopChipsTO @Klout Gift Pack!

Oh Hai @PopChipsTO @Klout Gift Pack!


I was very excited to have gotten a very tasty looking package in the mail today, it was from the kind folks over at Popchips & Klout! They sent me a sample of six of their chip flavors: Original, Barbecue, Sour Cream & Onion, Cheddar, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Salt & Pepper in one gloriously delicious looking package.

Not only did the folks at popchips send me this awesome package that you see above but if you look you can see a couple of awesome key items they included as well.

  1. A handwritten letter!
  2. A snack bag freshness clip.
  3. Coupons for more popchips!
  4. The opportunity to share some popchips with friends!

What the heck are popchips you ask? Well, according to their website they are chips that aren’t fried – because that is unhealthy – and they aren’t baked – because that isn’t delicious (or “undelicious”) but rather they take regular potatoes and add some heat and pressure and wait for it to pop! From there they have their chip and then they only add one thing – a blend of seasonings for taste. When they pop the chips what they leave out is “more than half the fat of fried potato chips, trans fats, and cholesterol.” All gone. This means it’s also supposed to be healthier for you! Sounds like a huge win to me.

To add to the winning these chips are also KOSHER! That’s right, you can bring them over to your Jewish, religious family or friends and say – I got the snack food covered for today, and it’s Kosher! This is also a good thing because if you check the Kosher sign it always says whether or not the food is Dairy or not. 3 varieties of popchips which I got ARE Dairy so all you folks who are lactose intolerant – aka lactarded – or vegan know which ones to stay away from. This results in so MUCH WIN it’s insane!!!!

But wait, they sent me a handwritten letter? Ya, trust me I was just as surprised as you are! But check out the image of the letter and judge for yourself.

If you open that picture up to full size you’ll see how there is a difference in each of the letters as they are formed various places throughout the note they sent to me. You can see how each ‘Y’ is formed slightly differently as well each ‘A’. Beyond that, take a look at the word “at” in the second line. It is less clear in this picture but you can clearly see that they started writing it sort of in the middle then branched out to write the entire thing. I only mention all of this because there were some friends of mine on Twitter (looking at you @zachbussey) who were doubting whether or not these are actually handwritten notes. I am not going to categorically say that it is handwritten because I don’t know what kind of technology is out there that can create such letters and write such things. However, to me, I am choosing to believe that it is 100% handwritten by someone over at Popchips HQ. I also looked at someone else’s blog post about this here and you can see the handwriting on their letter is VERY different. Finally, in certain places you can see where they have changed the amount of pressure they have used with the pen on the paper and the ink fades in and out during the course of a letter. I really need a better picture of the letter for you guys to truly see what I mean but, then again, this isn’t a handwriting analysis blog!

I was sent this, as I mentioned above, via the Klout Perks program. If you have never heard of Klout it is an online influence measurement tool for social media. Because I have a score high enough in the Toronto community I was given the opportunity to sample these new chips first as they have just recently launched in the Toronto area (and in Canada?). The text of the Klout Perks Popchips website about this reads like this -

popchips are coming to the Toronto area and they want you to be one of the first people to try them out! if you’re not familiar with popchips, you’re in for a treat. selected Toronto influencers will get a popchips snack pack which includes 6 delicious flavours of popchips. pop them all and decide what you think for yourself. sign in to see if you qualify today!

This is actually quite intelligent way to market their product as the package also includes the option to send the gift pack to other friends on my behalf. All I had to do was ask them for some mailing info and send it off and very soon they too will be enjoying some healthy popchip goodness. I have had these popchips before – specifically at the Toronto 2011 Twestival and they are quite delicious…I was also drinking at that time so I know they make excellent bar food. I will have the opportunity to now try them sober as I have yet to see them anywhere in Toronto. I am looking forward to it but I try not to snack before bed – they will have to wait for tomorrow!

  1. May 31, 2011 at 4:28 pm | #1

    Really impressed by the handwritten letter.

  1. June 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

