Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > How To: Add People To A Group Message/Chat On Facebook

How To: Add People To A Group Message/Chat On Facebook


A bunch of friends of mine and I are in the midst of planning a trip with a group of friends via Facebook. The method that was decided upon was a Group Message (which can also be turned into a Group Chat). In the planning of this trip every now and again someone has felt we should add another person to our plans  and every time someone wants to add another person to the group of boys coming out the same thing was repeated:

“Can someone add X to this group? I don’t know how.”

Turns out, I was the only one who knew how to do this so I figured a how to on my blog might be in order.

There are actually 2 different places – in Messages and in Chat that this can be done and it can be done, by my count, 3 different ways.  I will start with the Messages area of Facebook.

To add people from within the Messages area of Facebook:

  1. Click the “Actions” button at the top of the page and you’ll see a drop down menu.
  2. In the drop down menu you will see the option “Add People…”.  (Screenshot above.)
  3. Once you click that, a dialog box will show up which says “Add People” and all you have to do is type in the names and people with those names show up. (Screenshot below.)
  4. Click their names and add them to the conversation.

————-

Done & Done.

Next up we have the not-so-new version of Chat which incorporates Messages right into it. If you want to add people into a group there it can be done 2 different ways:

1) The “Add friends to chat” button.

  • Click the “Add friends to chat” button as seen in the picture below
  • A drop down box with “Enter a friend’s name” will appear.
  • Enter the friend’s name (Facebook will auto-complete for you).
  • Want more people? Start typing their names.
  • Click “Done.”

2) The next button over from the “Add friends to chat” button - the “Settings” button which looks like a cog.

  • Click the “Settings” button and a drop down menu will appear.
  • In the drop down menu there are 3 options. The middle one of them is “Add friends to chat”, click it.
  • Just like above, a drop down box with “Enter a friend’s name” will appear.
  • Enter the friend’s name (Facebook will auto-complete for you).
  • Want more people? Start typing their names.
  • Click “Done.”

I hope this is something that can help someone out at some point.

  1. ganesh mahangade
    July 22, 2011 at 10:40 am

    i cant see “add friends to chat” button in settings button in the chat option.

    • October 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      Sorry Ganesh, I don’t know what to tell you because it is there for me. Might I suggest contacting Facebook about this issue? Check out the Facebook Help Center here http://www.facebook.com/help

  2. hi
    August 7, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    I really like reading an article that can make people
    think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  3. Annie
    August 10, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Yes, I realize this article is old, but maybe you can help me. when I click “add people’ and then type in a name, there are always only two options of people to add (e.g. ‘John Smith’) and neither are my friend (and you know there are a bunch of other John Smith’s out there) How do I add people to the group message whose names refuse to appear in one of the two options Facebook pre-populates with?

    • August 19, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      Hi Annie,
      Hmm, have you tried beginning to type your friend’s name to see if the list populates correctly?
      That’s a weird problem. I have no idea as I’ve never heard of this issue. I will see if I can reproduce the issue but if I can’t reproduce it then I can’t really try to figure out how to get around it.

  4. pummy
    September 21, 2013 at 11:00 am

    if anybody added to the chat but not texting, may we able to know about the person who is added by someone of the group only to see the texts or messages of others in the group chat secretly?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

