Home > Contemplations > My $0.02: USB Sticks & AirCard Programs Should Be Standardized

My $0.02: USB Sticks & AirCard Programs Should Be Standardized


In writing for another blog I have been given the chance over the past while to play with different gadgets and devices, some to review and some to just be able to blog on the go and remain connected. One of the devices I have used for this was on the WIND network and it is called the WINDspeed Huawei data stick E1691.

WINDspeed Huawei data stick E1691 plugged into Dell laptop with WIND/Huawei app running on the computer. 

WINDspeed Huawei data stick E1691 plugged into Dell laptop with WIND/Huawei app running on the computer.

More recently I have been playing with the Rogers Sierra Wireless AirCard 313U which is an LTE capable device and unfortunately I am unable to take full advantage of the awesome speeds it is capable of while in Toronto because the LTW network has only been launched in Ottawa.

Rogers LTE Sierra Wireless AirCard 313U

Rogers LTE Sierra Wireless AirCard 313U

But this post is really not so much about the devices themselves as much as it is about the programs they install to run on our computers.

The reason I bring this up is because a couple months ago when I was using the WIND stick my older brother was in town and we were in a house with really poor Wi-Fi signal. I offered him to use my WIND stick but he said he couldn’t use it because his company computer was locked down.

I think that it is better – economically – if all the USB stick producers would just get together and make a standard app for USB sticks. Just look at the WIND Huawei app running on my computer above and the Rogers Sierra Wireless app that is running on my computer below.

Rogers Sierra Wireless AirCard 313U Connection Manager program running on Windows 7 (not on an LTE network, however).

Rogers Sierra Wireless AirCard 313U Connection Manager program running on Windows 7 (not on an LTE network, however).

I understand that they want to have branded programs but wouldn’t it be better if anyone can just buy a stick for their work computer and use it. This of course assumes that the IT department of the company installs this generalized app and allows their computers to go online when they’re out of the office network. I just think it would be better for the providers and for the manufacturers in terms of selling more units in the corporate world if they all used a generic as opposed to proprietary app.

What do you folks think? Does my idea have merit?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

