Home > Contemplations > One Desktop Manager To Rule Them All, All Of The Android Devices That Is!

One Desktop Manager To Rule Them All, All Of The Android Devices That Is!


androids on skateboards

This is something I wish existed for Android and I do not understand why it doesn’t yet. When I first started using the HTC Incredible S from Bell one of the first things I did was to look for an app which worked like BlackBerry Desktop Software for my BlackBerry devices (phones & PlayBook) or like iTunes works for all iOS devices (such as iPhones, iPads, and iPods). The software I had to download was by HTC and was called HTC Sync.

I honestly wasn’t the hugest fan of HTC Sync but it seemed to do the job, for the most part. It had its own quirks such as not allowing me to change the destination where I wanted my synced media to be saved. Instead, I had to have all my pictures from my phone saved automatically by HTC Sync to C:\…\Documents\My Photos\Device Camera Shots\100MEDIA\ when all I really wanted was to have it in my “My Pictures” Library in Windows 7 as a regular directory but HTC wouldn’t allow it. OK, like I said, all software has its quirks and nothing is perfect. I could live with this.

HTC Sync for PC Android Desktop Manager screenshot

I had gotten used to using HTC Sync and everything seemed fine until I got another Android phone to play with by a different manufacturer- the Telus Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate 4G. The Samsung Android devices naturally don’t use the desktop manager for PC syncing as the HTC Android devices. Instead, Samsung has its own app which I needed to download called Samsung KIES so of course I did.

Samsung KIES for PC Android Desktop Manager screenshot

When I started using the Samsung device I expected to be able to turn it on, input my Google Account ID and watch all the apps I had used on the HTC Incredible S be immediately slated to be downloaded onto the Samsung Galaxy S Fascinate 4G via the Android Market, but it was not to be. True, all my contacts and calendar entries were brought in from the cloud once I logged in to my Google Account but there was no simple “Change Device” option for me to use like BlackBerry Desktop Manager has which brings all of my apps and most of my settings over to my new phone because the two devices – even though they use the same OS – do not use the same PC syncing and desktop management system.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I completely and fully understand why Samsung has its own software and why HTC has its own software (and I assume Sony Ericsson and Motorola also probably have their own software for Android device syncing) but why doesn’t Google come out with one Desktop Manager to rule them all? This is something I wish for and somethign I think would make most Android users’ lives way, way simpler – at least until we really do have all of our stuff saved to the cloud!

Is there a desktop management app by Google that does this for PC? One that will work with any device that runs the Android OS? If there is I have yet to be able to find it but I would – again – really, really like to be made aware of its existence and have it for myself. If you know of such a program – PLEASE – let me know in the comments!

  1. Joey
    November 27, 2011 at 11:01 am

    http://www.sizzledcore.com/2010/02/14/android-pc-software-roundup/ , check these out. maybe youll find one you like.

  2. March 4, 2013 at 9:55 am

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he actually bought me lunch simply because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your internet site.

  3. March 4, 2013 at 10:04 am

    Your style is so unique compared to other people I have read
    stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

  4. March 4, 2013 at 10:07 am

    I have read so many articles on the topic of the blogger lovers but
    this post is actually a pleasant post, keep it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

