Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > The Quotes Quoted By Dr Tom From CBC’s “Being Erica” – Season 3 Edition

The Quotes Quoted By Dr Tom From CBC’s “Being Erica” – Season 3 Edition


Being Erica CBC Title Screen Season 3

You might recall my Season One edition of  this post. If you don’t, don’t worry! I have it linked for you right here: The Quotes Quoted By Dr Tom From CBC’s “Being Erica” – Season 1 Edition.

Well, today it is time for a new edition of this blog post. The Season 3 edition. You may be wondering why they heck I am skipping Season 2 and jumping to Season 3 my reason is actually somewhat silly and somewhat lazy. The reason for the skip is that I already had a few of the episodes from Season 3 saved on my computer and I decided to start watching Season 3 and skip Season 2 for now. One big difference from the Season 1 edition is that this version of the Season’s quotes by Dr Tom has been verified personally by me. In the Season 1 version of this I scoured the internet and other websites looking for the quotes and not researching them by watching the episodes myself. When you figure each episode is approximately 44 minutes long and there were 13 episodes in Season 3 that means I have watched 9 1/2 hours of Being Erica for this blog post alone.

Being Erica - Erica Strange & Dr Tom S03E12

One thing I also noticed is that all through Season 3 the number of quotes dropped drastically from the number of quotes in Season 1. I don’t know why this is, maybe the folks who make this CBC show decided it was a lot of hard work to find all those awesome quotes like they did in Season 1 (and maybe Season 2? I really gotta re-watch Season 2!) and decided to use a lot less quotes.

Episode 1 “The Rabbit Hole”

Episode 2 “Moving On Up”

  • Learning is finding out what you already know. – Richard Bach

Episode 3 “Two Wrongs”

  • An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind. – Gandhi
  • Darkness is only driven out with light, not more darkness. – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Episode 4 “Wash, Rinse, Repeat”

  • Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment. – The Buddha aka Siddhartha Gautama

Episode 5 “Being Adam”

  • It is our imagination that transforms itself into reality. – Helen Araromi

Episode 6 “Bear Breasts”

  • Running away will never make you free. – Kenny Logins
  • The id lives in our subconscious, it is the force that drives our most primitive impulses. – Sigmund Freud “The Ego and the Id.” (Out of a book and I assume that’s what it was called. Not an off the cuff quote as Dr. Tom usually does.)
Being Erica - Erica Strange & Dr Tom in Dr Tom's office

Episode 7 “Jenny from the Block”

  • And I saw Sisyphus, seeking to raise a monstrous stone with both his hands. Verily, he would thrust the stone toward the crest of a hill but the weight would turn it back. And then down again to plain would come rolling, the ruthless stone. – Homer, “Odyssey” Book 11 Line 593. However, this is a misquote by Dr Tom based on the quotes I found of the book online.

Episode 8 “Physician, Heal Thyself”

  • Whatever your past has been, you have a spotless future. – Melanie Gustafson

Episode 9 “Gettin’ Wiggy Wit’ It”

  • What is hateful to thyself do not do to another. – Hillel
  • (By Dr. Arthur, I am not sure why I even included it.) The Universe has a way of righting itself. – Tom ‘Dr. Tom’ Wexler paraphrased

Episode 10 “The Tribe Has Spoken”

Episode 11 “Adam’s Family”

~ No Dr Tom Quotes ~

Episode 12 “Erica, Interrupted”

  • In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity. – A Tom ‘Dr. Tom’ Wexler quote quoted by Erica to Leo. Originally said by Albert Einstein and quoted by Dr Tom to Erica in Season 1 Episode 1.

~ No Dr Tom Quotes ~

Episode 13 “Fa La Erica”

  • Christmas is a time when you get homesick, even when you’re home. – Carol Nelson
  • The Family is the Country of the heart. – Giuseppe Mazzini

In a way it is a good thing that I rewatched this entire season when I did. I now remember the ending of the season – the overarching story which really ended at Episode 12. What do I mean by that? Episode 13 was more of a holiday special and aired BEFORE Episode 12. Episode 12, on the other hand, ended with Erica seeing someone off camera and smiling at them but it is not identified who it is and we will have to wait for Season 4 to find out. Luckily, Season 4 of Being Erica begins airing in Canada on September 26, 2011 – only 3 weeks away!

  1. October 19, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Thanks for posting all the quotes! I didn’t catch the that Leo was quoting Dr. Tom from season 1…guess I need to go back and re-watch the earlier seasons also.

    • October 19, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      You’re very welcome Corey. I am glad you enjoyed the post & I was able to drop some knowledge on you/connect some dots. The benefit of having re-watched most of the show in a short time frame!

  2. Jennifer
    January 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Wow, thanks for compiling all of the quotes! I love Dr. Tom’s quotes and am so happy to see them all together like this.

  3. Cora
    July 23, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    Thank you so much for this!

  4. August 5, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    This is awesome. I do hope you get around to season two! I’ll be checking back. :)

    • August 5, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      Oh sorry! You did do season two! I got it now. (Doh!) Still, awesome.

    • August 5, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks Donna! I have great news for you, all 4 Seasons of Being Erica’s Quotes by Dr Tom have already been covered on this blog!

  1. September 6, 2011 at 12:12 am
  2. September 6, 2011 at 11:17 pm
  3. September 10, 2011 at 10:18 pm
  4. September 21, 2011 at 2:23 am
  5. September 26, 2011 at 8:07 pm
  6. October 15, 2011 at 10:23 pm
  7. December 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

