Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Twitter Stream Infographic With Visual.ly = Cute But Meh

Twitter Stream Infographic With Visual.ly = Cute But Meh


Thanks to @LaurenONizzle‘s post to her blog from a couple of days ago I found out this cool little tool that analyzes your Twitter stream and is supposed to spit out a infographic representations of you based on your tweets.

The tool is at a site called Visual.ly and I guess the best way to describe it is that you’re “Twitterizing” yourself.

Of course, once I found out this existed the first thing I did was click the link and try it out for myself and here are the results:

According to the website the way they come up with the graphical representation of you is by “using data from your Twitter account’s tweets (posts) combined with some twitter data from our friends over at infochimps. Our Twitterize yourself tool will generate an infographic in an instant based upon your information.

 The ‘outfits’ and ‘accessories’ are chosen based upon keywords most associated for you…There are a total of 11 possible outfits that depict your overall Twitter personality and 29 different accessories that could be assigned to show your interests.

We don’t stop there, though! You’ll also see cool diagrams of data depicting the amount of tweets, followers, people you’re following and the amount of tweets you see per day. If you’ve chosen to compare yourself to another Twitter user (including a celebrity account), you’ll also see who’s the bigger retweeter, who’s more social, who’s more interesting and what your comparative followers to following ratios are, as well as topics you potentially have in common.

While this seems like quite a bit of fun I have a few questions about the whole thing. First off, what the heck are “Chattiness,” “Enthusiasm,” and “Interestingness” in your Twitter stream and how are they measured? Visual.ly doesn’t tell us. Further, what do the percentages of those categories mean? Is low good? Is high good? Does the answer to the question change based on the category? Are they relative scores? This information does not seem to be available.

As well, I wonder how far they are going back in my tweet stream. I wonder this because of the results they came up with for “cartoon me” and some of the other categories. For example, I am decidedly NOT a gamer and, indeed, almost never talk about video games. I can’t even think of the last time I did before a recent Nuit Blanche tweet.

The ‘Likely Obsession’ I am not going to attempt to dispute because I am a pretty big fan of beer but the ‘gamer’ tag does call the rest of it into question in my mind.

Then there is the issue I have with their list of my “Strongest Connections,” only 2 of those people listed do I even agree with are amongst my strongest connections. Heck, one of the people I don’t even think I follow (and they don’t follow me) anymore. They also list my connection with myself as one of my strongest connections…what the?

My last thing I am left to wonder is what the heck a “donapost” is…and I should really know the answer to this one because apparently it is one of my “Topics” according to Visual.ly. Beyond that, I don’t think I have mentioned Linksys in a loooong time so I have no idea how that got on there.

While I can understand why certain services like KloutPeerIndexEdelman’s TweetLevel, and the like don’t want to draw the curtains back and show everyone how they calculate your online influence I don’t understand why Visual.ly is so sparse with their info on this infographic. The only reason I can come up with is because it just a “fun” thing and therefore they spent only spare time on actually making it.

Did you give it a try? Was it accurate for you? Let me know!

  1. October 4, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I think it’s pretty cute, though it said my likely obsession are teddy bears!

    • October 6, 2011 at 3:35 pm

      Hahaha like I said, Cute but meh. Cute in the way it looks and meh in the way the info is presented.

    • October 9, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      And are you obsessed with teddy bears? (I am guessing not!)

  1. October 31, 2011 at 1:52 am

Leave a Reply

