Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Monument To Multiculturalism Outside Union Station Toronto: Exploring Toronto Part IV

Monument To Multiculturalism Outside Union Station Toronto: Exploring Toronto Part IV


When I was writing my  “Being Erica On CBC Tonight: 7 Possible Owners Of The Gloved Hand & What I Want To See From Season 4″ I was looking for the name of that statue I saw outside of Union Station at the end of Season 3. I started looking for it online and what I could find about it and pictures of it was somewhat sparse. Therefore, as I was walking around downtown the other day looking for a Movember Beck Taxi I passed by the statue – which is called Monument To Multiculturalism and is outside Toronto’s Union Station. I realized that I had done already 3 posts in my Exploring Toronto series (Part I, Part II, and Part III) and decided that it’d be a great idea to do another one featuring this statue.

In my research on the statue (and in reading the plaques on it) I found out that it was made by by Francesco Pirelli. What I didn’t know until I looked on the interwebs was that four identical sculptures are located in Buffalo City, South Africa; Changchun, China; Sarajevo, Bosnia and Sydney, Australia. That little tidbit I got from Wikipedia’s article on Multiculturalism (Under the heading Multiculturalism in contemporary Western societies). You’d think though, that with it being a statue which is replicated literally across the globe it would have its own article or more written about it online but it seems it doesn’t. Even Francesco Pirelli doesn’t have much, that I could find, written about him (at least in English).

According to a post I found on Spacing Toronto, Pirelli himself wrote about the statue:

“I conceived the monument to be cast in bronze, and, stylistically, in a postmodern vein. It represents a man who, at the center of the globe, joins two meridians; while the remaining meridians are held aloft by doves, a peace symbol in themselves. Moreover, the doves are symbolically meant to represent the cultural vitality of the people who, with the man, construct a new world, under the banner of dialogue and mutual respect.”

I also took pictures of the plaques on the statue – I am unsure why I missed the southern side other than a guess that there wasn’t one but I am going to go back and check one of these days to make sure. Either way, here they are so you can know all about this global marker to multiculturalism that Canada shares with Australia, China, and South Africa right here in downtown Toronto.

Northern side plaque on the Monument to Multiculturalism by Francesco Pirelli (click the picture for full size).

-

Eastern side plaque on the Monument to Multiculturalism by Francesco Pirelli (click the picture for full size).

-

Western side plaque on the Monument to Multiculturalism by Francesco Pirelli (click the picture for full size).

Leave a Reply

