Home > Contemplations > Facebook Clandestinely Adds Tag Approval! Hooray!

Facebook Clandestinely Adds Tag Approval! Hooray!


When I was writing my own post about the New Facebook Password Recovery Option I had also just found out about the option which Facebook had added something that I yearned for months ago and then was told wasn’t going to happen because it went against Facebook’s interests actually happened!

In a relatively recent blog post from the end of August called “Making It Easier to Share With Who You Want,” Facebook announced this very feature in the excerpt which I have pictured in a screenshot below.

Facebook Profile Tag Review Blog Post

 To activate this not so new feature all you need to do is go into your Facebook Privacy Settings here and there you will see the ‘How Tags Work’ option (pictured below).

Clicking the “Edit Settings” link will bring up this dialog box where you can edit all the settings on how you want your tags to work.

Facebook Tag Review Option Dialogue

From then on, any time you get a notification of a tagging all you have to do is go to your Notifications area and you’ll be given the option of approving or denying the tag. The tag also won’t show up on your profile – as far as I can tell – until you click either way.

This is just the bees knees as far as I am concerned and the only thing that would make this option more perfect would be to be given access to approve or deny tags via the Facebook for BlackBerry app or even by logging in to Facebook on my mobile device’s browser.

If you are at all concerned about your privacy on Facebook I highly recommend turning this feature on sooner rather than later.

One other thing I noticed is that until I went through the settings myself and came upon this I had no idea it existed and yet in my mind THIS is exactly the kind of thing which Facebook should be making a big deal about in terms of new changes. Even the title of their blog post which contained the announcement about it is one which belies the importance of the information being announced within. Even still, I think it is high time I subscribed to the Facebook blog’s RSS feed and I recommend you do the same.

  1. danah
    November 15, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Thanks! You always provide such useful info!

    • November 15, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      Great to hear that my little blog posts are being appreciated and people are finding them useful! Thanks Danah!

  2. November 29, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Love this feature. Cool how-to Dan, I think most people who know about this would opt for reviews of tags. This reminds me I should include this tip in my facebookecourse.com! I gave this post 5 stars. Cheers. :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

