Home > Contemplations > Signature Scent vs Scent Switching

Signature Scent vs Scent Switching


My current cologne collection.

The thought came to me the other day when I opened up my cupboard where I keep my colognes and contemplated how I know some people who ALWAYS in my memory wear the same cologne or perfume. I wondered if it said something about them – or about me – that I prefer to shift between colognes depending on my mood, the weather, and/or where I am going.

Growing up I often would come across a character in a book or in a movie or TV show who was recognizable by their specific scent. Even after they were gone, the author or other characters would describe the sensory perception of them in a defined scent. Personally, I would never fit into that kind of description because of how often I change between colognes. Granted I have stayed with three of the four I have pictured above (although I have been using the John Paul Galtier “Le Male” ‘Stimulating Summer Fragrance’ variation for the past while) I have always been ready to switch it up for no particular reason whatsoever.

Does having a ‘signature scent’ indicate something about a person psychologically? Should we all try and have signature scents? I can understand people – especially significant others – wanting each other to have a familiar scents and therefore can see a reason for it but at the same time I don’t know if I will ever settle down for just one scent. Heck, even if I do try and settle down with one scent won’t me changing deodorants, soaps, shampoos, detergent, fabric softener, and even toothpaste affect the overall outcome in some subtle way?

Do you have a signature scent? If yes, have you/do you switch your signature scent every couple of years? Or have you stuck with it since you got it?

  1. November 24, 2011 at 12:24 am

    I like to use the scents I wear to trigger moments for me. If I’m going to experience something new, like a city, a concert, etc. I pick a scent – and douse myself in it. Then in my mind that scent is always linked to that moment and when I smell that perfume, it brings me right back. It’s like when you smell that sweet candy scent and it brings you right back to a moment when you were 6 or 7 and everything seems to come back so vividly. This makes for a rather large perfume collection for myself… I never saw a need for a signature scent and I love picking one to wear based on my mood as well. Stellar post!

    • November 24, 2011 at 12:46 am

      Thanks Brittny! I really appreciate the words. Out of interest, do you choose this new perfume at random based on smelling it in the store or do you test it out first? I ask this because I have heard & read that colognes/perfumes have to be right for you & not every cologne/perfume is good for everyone because they mix differently with our body’s natural scents & pheromones and whatnot.

      • November 24, 2011 at 2:28 pm

        I *usually* test it out in the store. I also have an addiction to Lush Cosmetics Perfumes and can guess what the scent will be like on me. Body chemistry can make a HUGE difference in many perfumes, how something smells on me can be super different on a friend. I’ve gotten fairly good at looking at the main ingredients and knowing if it will smell proper or not. :)

      • November 24, 2011 at 11:03 pm

        You clearly have some mad smelling skillz! Haha. Maybe I should start checking my fave colognes’ ingredients. That’s a great idea.

  2. November 24, 2011 at 12:54 am

    I’m a big fragrance fan. I tend to wear a “signature scent” for awhile and then ditch it and move on to something else… as I evolve, so do my “scents”, I suppose. I’m also a big sucker for guys who wear cologne – there is something undeniably sexy about a man who smells good (oh, and Le Male is good stuff – brownie points for you!)

    As for buying straight from the store, I NEVER do this. I will always wear a scent for at least a few hours before I commit. I find with my body chemistry, certain scents end up smelling cloying on my skin after awhile.

  3. November 24, 2011 at 1:15 am

    Haha, glad you’re a fan of Le Male Katrina and much appreciate your weighing in with your thoughts. I have also gotten rave reviews from ladies when I wear Chanel Allure & Sexual Sugar Daddy (even though the second’s name is uber creepy it smells delish!)

    What I find also very interesting is that in my experience not only do our pheromones & natural scent interact with the cologne or perfume to make the scent of one perfume pleasing on one person & horrid on the other but the person smelling it is also key. I have been told, specifically, by one lady that the Sexual Sugar Daddy scent on me is absolutely terrible whereas everyone else has given me rave reviews. It’s an interesting dynamic to be sure!

    In terms of buying from the store, I’ll usually try it out at the store beforehand and see people’s reaction to it the rest of the day before I go back to buy. I agree with you that you have to try it out beforehand and see how you like it in a couple of hours. HOWEVER, that said, the Clinique Pleasures for Men I keep for sentimental reasons as it was the last cologne my mom ever bought my dad before he got sick and died. My first bottle of it was actually his unfinished bottle. I am not the biggest fan of the smell in of itself to be honest but I keep it and wear it every now and again nonetheless.

  4. November 25, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    I have about a dozen different scents that I cycle through. I’d wear just one signature scent, but I wear them mostly for myself, and not necessarily for others’ enjoyment. The problem with wearing the same scent all the time, is that eventually I get so used to it and I can’t smell it anymore. The way I decide which scent I wear is quite interesting…I pick a bottle that is the same color as my shirt. That way the scent is very much associated with what I see when I look down at my shirt. It’s a bit quirky, but it makes sense to me.

    • November 27, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      @Bizaaron not at all! I don’t necessarily use the same color bottle as my shirt because that would confine me to blue, yellow/tan, purple, and orange but I TOTALLY do sometimes coordinate the color of the cologne bottle to the colors of what I’m wearing. You are not alone my friend! We can be crazy together on this one haha

  1. January 5, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Leave a Reply

