Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Ad + TTC Subway Station Turnstile = Amusing Mixed Message

Ad + TTC Subway Station Turnstile = Amusing Mixed Message


ttc subway turnstile johnnie walkerOn my way to the York University Alumni Mixer last week I had to go through TTC King Station. As I walked through the station I noticed that it had all been plastered with advertising for the new “Johnnie Walker Double Black” blended scotch whisky. In case you’re wondering the whisky has been described “a pumped-up Black Label” so in the price/age list it probably comes between Black Label and Green Label. (The list from lowest price/youngest to highest/oldest is Red, Black, Green, Gold, and Blue.)

When I got to the turnstiles on my way out I noticed the contradictory message the ad related – to “Keep Walking” – whereas the TTC’s signage said that that particular turnstile was “No Entry. It giving me that chuckle was something I thought I’d share.

Have you ever seen something like this? Where an ad’s placement results in an amusing message due to its surroundings? Funnier? Let me know below in the comments!

  1. December 9, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    Dan,

    My office is at Adelaide & Yonge, so I see this whenever I’m going there.

    I wonder. Did you look carefully at the poster? If you do, you’ll see that they do NOT give an address to a Facebook Page. However, they do give an address to their LinkedIn page. LinkedIn, not Facebook. Any thoughts on why they would do their social media advertising through LinkedIn rather than Facebook?

    Raymond AKA The Funky Barrister.

    PS Still working on my response to your traffic court post. Hopefully this weekend. ;-)

    • December 10, 2011 at 9:12 am

      Ha! Good catch, Dan! Hey Raymond, I noticed this also about the posters and here’s what I think (having previously worked adjacent to, but not in, the JW media team).

      Demographically, I’ve always seen JW target professionals and since LinkedIn is a professional network, that would be the appropriate environment where they can try it and see if they can overtake competitive share of voice this holiday season.

      Also, JW clearly positions themselves a gift-giving drink (holiday-only mass market advertising), so I think the message is if you are buying holiday cheer for bosses or clients, “Keep Walking”, the JW story (so passionate about whiskey, when a barrel flew overboard he went after it & encountered a GIANT octopus) – is there to position the brand as a support for you/entrepreneurs through the struggles of business startups.

      Debbie
      Social Media Concierge

      • December 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm

        Thanks for the comment Debbie! Although I think the commercial you’re referring to is a Jameson spot not JW…but either way, seeing them targeting professionals makes sense as people who don’t know anything about scotch seem to drink it pretty often.

    • December 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm

      Interesting point Raymond! I have oft wondered about doing that in general. They put up the little Twitter or FB icon and give you no info to actually use. It’s expecting WAAAAY too much of the customer IMHO.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

