Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > The Quotes Quoted By Dr Tom From CBC’s “Being Erica” – Season 4 Edition

The Quotes Quoted By Dr Tom From CBC’s “Being Erica” – Season 4 Edition


Being Erica CBC Website image

Well, last night “Being Erica” had its series finale with the end of the Season 4 and I am here to bring you the quotes quoted by Dr Tom all this season. As well, I have provided links to previous incarnations of this post from the previous seasons:

If you are not up to date on the final season of Being Erica don’t worry there are no out and out spoilers in here.

I have also decided to add a new aspect to this post in that I am going to include Erica’s patient in each of the episodes. (I started writing this post after Episode 2 when she has already had a different patient in each of the two episodes as she goes through “Doctor Training.”)

Episode 1 “Doctor Who?”

Patient: Josh McIntosh

  • Failure is nature’s plan to prepare you for greater responsibilities. – Napoleon Hill
  • Life is too short to blend in. – Paris Hilton

Episode 2 “Osso Barko”

Patient: Julianne Giacomelli
  • Sometimes a cigar is just a cigar. – Sigmund Freud
  • With the possible exception of the equator, everything begins somewhere. – C.S. Lewis

Episode 3 “Baby Mama”

Patient: Barbara ‘Barb’ Strange

  • Life is so constructed that an event does not, cannot, will not, match the expectation. – Charlotte Brontë

Episode 4 “Born This Way”

Patient: Brent Kennedy

  • When the lord closes a door, somewhere he opens a window. – Mother Superior (by Julianne)

Being Erica Chair_wallpaper_1024x768 via CBC

Episode 5 “Sins Of The Father”

Patient: Dr Tom being treated by Dr Naadiah

  • The sum of wisdom is that time is never lost that is devoted to work. – Ralph Waldo Emerson (by Dr Tom’s father to Dr Tom)
  • Happiness is the meaning and the purpose of life, the whole aim and end of human existence. – Aristotle

Episode 6 “If I Could Turn Back Time”

Patient: None.

  • What we obtain too cheaply, we esteem too lightly. – Thomas Payne
  • With great power comes great responsibility. – Spiderman (Ben ‘Uncle Ben’ Parker, but they don’t reference him specifically.)
  • We have no more right to consume happiness without producing it than to consume wealth without producing it. – George Bernard Shaw
  • We learn by doing, there is no other way. – John Holt. This is a quote Dr Tom has used before but he didn’t bother to say who it was by this time.

Episode 7 “Being Ethan”

Patient: Ethan

  • Nothing that is worth knowing can be taught. – Oscar Wilde

Episode 8 “Please, Please Tell Me Now”

Patient: Erica by Dr Tom & Dr Tom by Dr Naadiah

~ No Dr Tom Quotes ~

Episode 9 “Erica’s Adventures in Wonderland”

Patient: Erica

  • Fall in love for all the right reasons. – eHarmony
  • We come to love not by finding the perfect person but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly. – Sam Keen
  • Live long and prosper. – Quoted by Dr Tom dressed as Mr Spock even though he doesn’t actually attribute it he is dressed as Mr Spock complete with prosthetic ears.

Episode 10 “Purim”

Patient: Erica’s Grandfather

~ No Dr Tom Quotes ~
Episode 11 “Dr. Erica”

Patient: Erica & later her first full patient. Spoiler Alert in these brackets is the name of the first patient. Because some of you might not have seen the episode yet, you have to highlight the name by selecting it with your mouse. (Sarah Wexler)

  • There is no constant but change. – Heraclitus (Erica says it to Dr Naadiah but doesn’t attribute it.)
  • Everything that has a beginning has an ending. Make your peace with that and all will be well. – The Buddha
  • In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity. – Albert Einstein (Erica to her first patient.)

Well, “Being Erica” is officially over. Episode 11 of Season 4 was the series finale. It was a really enjoyable show to watch and I love all the quotes they used. I wonder if they will ever put them all together into a book?

If you want more “Being Erica” there are two remakes in the works! In the UK they will be ‘relocating’ the show to Glasgow and it is tentatively going to be called “You Again” and will be a six part series. In the USA they will be remaking it as well, although details are a lot more sketchy on that one. I’m looking forward to seeing their interpretations of this show – are you?

  1. January 1, 2012 at 12:48 pm | #1

    Yay! I just finished watching the whole series a few seconds ago. It has been an amazing journey and I’m beyond happy that I came across it in the first place. To think that I actually laughed the show off when I first heard about it. I’m glad that I stuck through for as long as I have. It was almost instinctive for me to take down the quotes that were featured and I have to say, I’m a proud owner of 4 documents-worth of not only Dr. Tom’s quotes, but some other interesting lines as well. I have enjoyed this show so much and at the risk of sounding cheesy, I’ve grown so much together with it. It really is educational and meaningful. Thanks for keeping track of the quotes, I’ve been checking your updates once in a while to confirm some of them. Honestly, I don’t think any interpretation can match the kind of quality and ‘groundedness’ that Erin, Michael, the cast and crew brought to Being Erica. The series finale broke my heart and put it back together. I’ll miss it.

  2. January 6, 2012 at 10:21 pm | #2

    Dan, excellent job on this post as in the other summaries. Are you sure this is the end? I saw a video post with Erin K. saying there would be a Season 5 at the Gemini Awards. So far, I kinda feel like this show peaked on the Erica Interrupted Episode…but will reserve judgement until I make it to the season finale. The challenge of recreating this show is that it had a perfect mix of actors who brought the stories to life in a way that strongly complimented the writing…..that mix is going to be very difficult to recreate, even if they used the same scripts.

    • January 9, 2012 at 10:59 am | #3

      Corey, in answer to your question I point you to this article http://www.spoilertv.com/2011/02/being-erica-season-4-confirmed-to-be.html where they quote a blog post by the show’s creators to confirm that yes, Season 4 was the last season of Being Erica.
      I guess only time will tell if they can manage to recreate the show in the two new incarnations. People said the American version of “The Office” was not near as good as the UK version and look which one has had tons more staying power. I guess we never really know with these sorts of things before they happen.

  3. RC
    July 18, 2012 at 10:16 am | #4

    Didn’t Dr. Tom once quote Aristotle: “That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing.”? I see a similar John Holt quote, but I could swear he once quoted Aristotle.

    • July 20, 2012 at 1:25 pm | #5

      RC: Thanks so much for the comment. I honestly do not recall Dr Tom ever mentioning the quote but he did quote a lot of people over the course of 4 seasons so my memory of his quotes is unreliable at best. That’s largely why I wrote these 4 posts!

      As you can see above, in Episode 6 of Season 4 Dr Tom did quote a very similar quote (which you mentioned in your comment) “We learn by doing, there is no other way.” and I noted that ‘[t]his is a quote Dr Tom has used before but he didn’t bother to say who it was by this time.’

      If you – or someone else who comments – happen to find the episode and season when Dr Tom quotes this Aristotle quote I am happy to include it but until I know that information I am going to leave the quote in your comment only.

  4. Thoughts Of Me
    October 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm | #6

    I loved Being Erica!! I am from the UK and the 4th Season hasn’t aired yet but I ordered the DVD from Canada because I couldn’t wait! I watched the finale last night and cried (Im such a girl!) I had a good idea though…wouldnt it be good if they made another series with Erica being the Dr. I know it might not be the same without Dr Tom but it would still be enjoyable to watch :) I hope they would consider this…

    I cant imagine a UK version really…I will look forward to see how that turns out!

  5. karen
    May 30, 2013 at 2:03 pm | #7

    i am from australia and came across being erica in the video shop i went home and watched the whole 4 seasons online, i loved it and i watched the last show last night i cried and cried and very sad to hear there is not goin to be any more i loved all the characters, thankyou to all the people involved love love loved it thankyou thankyou xo

  6. March 9, 2014 at 5:53 pm | #8

    I came across Ur blog while searching for Being Erica’s quotes and I can’t stop from congratulating on the effort made by U in gathering all this and putting in one place so beautifully. Thank you.

  1. December 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

