Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > The End Is The Beginning…

The End Is The Beginning…


Exit Sign in Air Canada Centre PATH Toronto

Last night was – as we all know – New Years Eve. We ‘exited’ 2011 and entered the long hallway that is this fresh year of 2012. What are you going to do with your time walking down the hallway of 2012? Do you have any resolutions for the New Year? I am not the kind of person who usually makes a New Year’s Resolution so this year my – somewhat flip – resolution is that I resolve to be alive after the Mayan calendar ends on December 21, 2012. If I make it to December 22, 2012 then I will have managed to fulfill my New Year’s Resolution and I guess I can feel a sense of accomplishment when I get to the end of the hallway and open the door to 2013. (No, I don’t believe that the world is going to end when we tear the last proverbial page off of the Mayan calendar.)

Beyond the above resolution I just want to feel I have bettered myself and my life and reached more accomplishments when I come to the crossroads between 2012 and 2013. I have done so much this past year but I feel there is still so much to do on the PATH* of life.

Connection - PATH Air Canada Centre Maple Leaf Square Pedestrian Bridge

*The reason I wrote the word ‘path’ all caps above is sort of an in-joke in that the picture of the hallway is a pedestrian bridge which is part of the PATH pedestrian walkway system in downtown Toronto.

This past year saw me trying a caesar for the first time ever as well as my first eggnog. I started this crazy Post-A-Day Challenge who’s results you are reading now. I helped plan Foursquare Day Toronto 2011 and was the co-organizer and co-host of Social Media Day Toronto for the second year in a row. I met so many amazing people, got auctioned off for charity and had experiences that if you told me on January 1, 2011 were going to happen to me I would have just looked at you in shock and excitement. This past year had its low points as well, I’m not going to lie. Some of them I shared on here, some of them I didn’t or only alluded to but all in all I am proud of the year behind me and look forward to facing the challenges of the year ahead.

As a weird aside: Sometimes it truly amazes me the random things I remember. The title of this blog post is a reference to a song by The Smashing Pumpkins “The End Is The Beginning Is The End.” I thought it was a regular song by the band but once I used it decided to look it up and it seems this song was never on any albums by The Smashing Pumpkins and was made for the soundtrack for the movie “Batman & Robin” which I never owned. I truly don’t know why I even know the song because I just listened to it on YouTube and do not remember it at all. Weird the way some things stick like that.

Did you make a New Year’s Resolution for 2012? Did you manage to fulfill your resolution for 2011? Let me know in the comments below. Either way may 2012 bring all y’all only happiness, awesomeness, health, wealth, and success!

  1. March 11, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found a
    sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a
    hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants
    to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

