Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Dan Tries A Vegan Restaurant, Leaves Unimpressed

Dan Tries A Vegan Restaurant, Leaves Unimpressed


I went to have lunch with my cousin from New York today who I haven’t seen in a very long time and because she’s a vegetarian I chose a vegetarian restaurant with the help of my Twitter friends.

This was what I tweeted:

It was suggested that I go to Urban Herbivore in Toronto’s Kensington Market (the area my cousin is staying) and order the Moroccan Stew. The exact tweet I received was: “Urban Herbivore!! You’ll love the Moroccan stew, even if it is veggie and not “ppl food” as you call it”. Obviously I was joking about the “people food” vs vegetarian food remark.

The picture at the top is the way the Moroccan Stew looked right when I got it. I was joking when I made the distinction between food an average omnivorous human would eat and what you get at a vegetarian restaurant for +$8. Honestly, when I first saw it, it looked like the collection of foods that piles together in my compost aka organic waste bin. I tried it, of course, and it was pretty darn good I must say. HOWEVER, for me it would only really work as a side on a plate with something more substantial like a steak or a piece of chicken or something and certainly not for that amount of money. I will say though that my experience with what was a vegan restaurant is not indicative of what vegetarian restaurant is like and that I should try the restaurant “Fresh” sometime soon – which I will – but more on that later.

This glorious burger you see above, on the other hand, is what I had the other day at Holy Chuck a little spot at Yonge and St. Clair. Delicious, satiating, and awesome. When I ate at Urban Herbivore the line spoken by Timon & Pumbaa to Simba “slimy yet satisfying” kept running through my head. I was amazed about the people that have told me in the past that eating vegan was awesome and they didn’t miss meat. I mean they must be really committed to their beliefs in the supposed ethical wrong of eating meat. I just don’t get it but more power to all those people willing to make that sacrifice. I, for one, don’t quite get it and am happy to remain an omnivorous, meat eating Homo sapiens sapiens.

Update: At least I got this hilarious check-in message from Foursquare when I checked-in at Urban Herbivore.

Urban Herbivore Foursquare Checkin screen 2012-01-02 14.46.00

  1. January 3, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Yeah, Urban Herbivore is good… but I would’ve kicked over to Spadina and walked down towards Queen and eaten at Fresh. Get some corn bread, a veggie burger with some cheese, some sweet potato fries with miso and you’ll be struggling to finish it all. If you need people food and you’re on a vegetarian budget, Fresh is the best. Or AYCE sushi at a place with a good veggie list, like Echo (but that’s not in Kensington)

    • January 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Thanks Marie! I am beginning to understand that there really is a vast difference between vegan and vegetarian cuisines. I believe U.H. is a vegan restaurant whereas Fresh is clearly a vegetarian establishment (evidenced by the fact that they have cheese). Next time my cousin comes into town – or I am looking to eat vegetarian for whatever reason – I will certainly reference this post. I also was told good things on Twitter about Khao San Road have you been there?.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

