Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > How To Save Your Facebook “A Look Back” Video

How To Save Your Facebook “A Look Back” Video


Look Back Facebook

Today, Facebook celebrated 10 years of its existence and because of this august occasion they have decided to set up a program which compiles a personalized video which they call “A Look Back” and what others have been simply calling a “Lookback.” The Lookback shows you a highlight reel of your Facebook life. If you’d like to check it out you can go to Facebook.com/lookback. (Sidenote: In 4 days I will be celebrating 8 years on Facebook. Woah!)

The only problem with the video is, cool as it is, I don’t necessarily want to drive everyone to my Facebook page in order to see the video and I would like to be able to keep a copy for myself. Luckily, someone on the interwebs figured it out so I thought I would share it you, my readers. Below you’ll find my video uploaded onto YouTube and instructions for downloading your own video using Google Chrome.

(Note: The video it downloads is NOT the HD version just the 480p. If you know how to force it to grab the HD one let me know and I can add the info in here.)

And now, the instructions for how to do it for yourself!

  1. Open the link http://www.facebook.com/lookback
  2. Press Ctrl+Shift+J to open the Console.
  3. Copy the whole code at http://textuploader.com/14qr and paste into the Console then press Enter.
  4. The Console dialog will gives you a link to the video for download.
  5. Right click the link and select “Save Link As” to download and save it.
  6. Do whatever you’d like with it! Upload it anywhere!
  7. Enjoy :)

In case you’re wondering, according to TIME Magazine Tech I have wasted this much of my life on Facebook assuming I have spent an average of 37 minutes per day on it since I joined. (An average person spends 17 minutes per day so I just increased it a lot.)

TIME How much time wasted on Facebook with 37min per day

  1. Heather Jenkins
    February 4, 2014 at 6:29 pm | #1

    Thanks Dan :)

  2. February 4, 2014 at 6:56 pm | #3

    I’m having a different problem. I’d like to share mine on Facebook, but I’m not given that option. Also I’m on a Mac if that makes a difference. It’s driving me batty!! I can view it, but don’t have the option to share!!

    • February 4, 2014 at 7:06 pm | #4

      I don’t know why you wouldn’t have the share option, Liza. Have you watched the video more than once? I notice I no longer have a share button but I already shared mine (privately though.)
      Have you tried a different browser to see if it is the browser you’re using? Are you running an old version of your browser? My best suggestion is to grab the video as described above and upload it yourself, manually.

  3. February 4, 2014 at 7:08 pm | #5

    Tried my iPhone and Mac. Will try on a windows laptop, see if it works. At my wits end. :(

    • February 4, 2014 at 7:09 pm | #6

      Sounds like you’d be better off just downloading it and uploading it to Facebook as a standard Facebook video.

  4. Tim
    February 4, 2014 at 7:18 pm | #7

    You can also get your video link using a bookmarklet: http://timothee.svbtle.com/facebook-look-back
    Enjoy :)

  5. seb
    February 4, 2014 at 9:59 pm | #8

    anyway to do this on a mac?

    • February 4, 2014 at 10:03 pm | #9

      Did you try using Chrome for Mac?

      • seb
        February 4, 2014 at 10:15 pm | #10

        yeah…didn’t bring up any window for me.

      • February 4, 2014 at 10:23 pm | #11

        I imagine there’s a way to bring up the console in Chrome for Mac. Try to google it.

  6. seb
    February 4, 2014 at 10:28 pm | #12

    ok..seens option+command and i will bring up the tabs where the console window is. thanks for the kick in the ass.

  7. seb
    February 4, 2014 at 10:31 pm | #13

    fucking rad it seems to have worked.

  8. seb
    February 4, 2014 at 10:32 pm | #14

    and mine looks pretty HD. I had it playing as HD before I did all this stuff above.

  9. Stopthe Garbage
    February 5, 2014 at 2:21 am | #15

    Has it occurred to anyone that this was a PERSONAL gift from Facebook to its users. Nobody wants to see what was already shared, nor do they want to listen to melancholy music accompanying images that mean nothing to anyone but the individual they were intended for!

  10. Lusin
    February 5, 2014 at 3:41 am | #16

    Hello, it does not work. I tried many times, like you adviced, but no result. Every time I copy and paste the code, it is giving no any link but “Uncaught TypeError: Cannot call method ‘split’ of undefined”. What would you advice to do? Thank you

  11. February 5, 2014 at 11:21 am | #17

    Any advice for someone who accidentally deleted her “look back” video? I go back to the page and it just says “thank you”. I am so sad that I cannot share it.

    • February 5, 2014 at 11:24 am | #18

      No idea how you could have deleted it, Lynn. Didn’t even know that was possible.

  12. Julie Kane
    February 5, 2014 at 1:39 pm | #19

    I viewed my video but didn’t share it. I wanted to see it first before I did. Now I can’t get to watch it again :(. Can you help me please. Thanks

  13. Steph N.
    February 5, 2014 at 1:42 pm | #20

    I did the same. Deleted the video to try and change the pics but unable to get video back. I only see pics and a thank you when I reclick the lookback link. Help needed on getting video back!!!

  14. February 5, 2014 at 3:43 pm | #21

    When I click on the link all I see if pictures and a thank you. I need help getting the video back. Please tell me what to do . I guess I deleted it by accident. I would really like to have it back. Thank you

  15. Jenny Lai
    February 5, 2014 at 9:16 pm | #22

    Thank you so much. I got it :)

  16. February 6, 2014 at 9:18 am | #23

    seb :
    and mine looks pretty HD. I had it playing as HD before I did all this stuff above.

    I did the same and yes it look pretty HD.

  17. February 6, 2014 at 3:19 pm | #24

    Any way to get the ‘;look back’ for another FB account?

  18. February 6, 2014 at 5:16 pm | #25

    worked like a charm! thank you!

  19. JRich
    February 7, 2014 at 2:02 am | #26

    Is there instructions anywhere on the internets where you can learn how to adapt this (or make a similar code) to download any type of video? I could see some potential for this method.

  20. shanthan
    February 7, 2014 at 11:49 am | #27

    i unable to perform lookback

  21. agesilaos
    February 7, 2014 at 7:06 pm | #28

    Or you just use the Firefox-AddOn “FlashGot”. Super easy, also für YouTube.

  22. March 9, 2014 at 11:30 am | #29

    Reblogged this on AcerbicallyUrs.

  1. February 6, 2014 at 4:10 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

