Home > Contemplations > 9/11 Anniversary

9/11 Anniversary


Never Forget the Heroes & Victims of Sept 11, 2001

Today is the 9th anniversary of the terrorist attacks of Sept 11, 2001 which have come to be known as 9/11. That day was one of those moments in our lifetimes where we will always remember where we were when we heard the news. For years beforehand I would hear my mom tell me she remembered the day JFK was shot and I didn’t understand how someone could remember something like that so clearly so many years later.

It has been 9 years since the terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon and I remember very well where I was. I was in bed, in my dorm room in Washington Heights, Manhattan when my roommate woke me up to ask me if he could use my laptop to go on the internet and check the news about the plane that hit the World Trade Center. Confused, I woke up and looked on as he checked the CNN.com page and listened to the radio he had already turned on. I worried for my older brother, Mike, who worked down at 3 World Financial Center and found out later at around 11:30 that morning he called my mother from a pay phone to say he was OK and there was a line a mile long for that phone so he had to go. Talk about consideration!

It has been 9 years since that fateful September morning and a lot has changed but so much hasn’t. One thing to reflect on as technology marches forward is that if there was a line a mile long for the pay phones then, think how completely lost we would be now if suddenly our cell phones didn’t have service! Ya, there was a line a mile long to get to the pay phone my brother used that day but think how few pay phones there are around now and how much longer the line would be should some major news event (hopefully good) should happen again which somehow interferes with cell signals.

It is terrible that with all the technology we have at our disposal today they are just now about to reach the 40th floor of construction on the new 1 World Trade Center (aka the Freedom Tower) [link]. I thought that Donald Trump’s belated idea in 2005 for “replicas of the original 110-story towers, only a bit taller…offered buildings that would be 1,474 feet — more than a hundred feet taller than the original towers, once the world’s tallest buildings.” [link] was and is a great one. Don’t put something different there, put the same thing only bigger as a symbol that when you knock us down we will get right back up, only more formidable, each time.

Let us never forget the horrible attack of that day and the amazing acts of heroism and decency by those affected. Let us never forget the innocent lives lost that day.

I have loved and always will love this picture of the heroes of the FDNY erecting a flag at Ground Zero

I have loved and always will love this picture of the heroes of the FDNY erecting a flag at Ground Zero

Categories: Contemplations
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

