Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > I Won A FREE BlackBerry Torch From @BlackBerryScene

I Won A FREE BlackBerry Torch From @BlackBerryScene


Me with the @BlackBerryScene Team @ Yonge & St Clair Toronto after I won my 9800 Torch (that's what the card in my right hand is).

 

This past Friday as I was preparing to figure out who I was going to #FollowFriday on Twitter I saw a message pop up on my Twitter feed from @BlackBerryScene announcing that the first person to be at the intersection of Yonge & St Clair who found Team @BlackBerryScene and performed their favorite movie scene would a BlackBerry Torch 9800. Sitting a little north of Wilson and west of Bathurst I knew I had my work cut out for me.

I hopped in my car and started to drive south. Sitting south of Wilson on Yonge with 11 minutes to go I knew there was no way I was going to make it and be the first one there by driving. I got to Lawrence and quickly found a parking spot and ran down into the bowels of the TTC Yonge Line.

7 minutes left to go before my 20 minutes were up the train finally pulled into the station. Of course, that stop was when the train operators decided they needed to switch. The train finally got underway with 5 minutes to go.

22 minutes since the tweet was sent out and I finally got out of St Clair Subway Station to the sunny corner. I looked around for the @BlackBerryScene SUV which I had seen the other day outside the Bell Lightbox. Couldn’t find them. I looked around wildly and finally saw a bunch of people in black standing on the street corner across the street. I ran over and was told, “Sorry, that guy just won but you can keep following us downtown and we will be giving away more throughout the day.” AWWWW!

Then, the folks from BlackBerry said, what movie scene were you going to do? Can you do it anyway? Thinking why not I said OK and performed the scene from Pulp Fiction when Samuel L Jackson quoted Ezekiel. The BlackBerry crew cheered and one of them started reaching into their bag. “What’s this?” I thought. “A t-shirt? A battery?”…they pulled out a card and handed it to me and said, “YOU WON A BLACKBERRY TORCH!!! It will be delivered to your house on launch day!”

Astonished, I was speechless. I was so excited I was shaking as they handed me the card and a box and a Torch to pose for a picture. See above.

Thanks to all the guys from Team @BlackBerryScene

My not-so-golden (but every bit as awesome) ticket from the @BlackBerryScene Team entitling me to a Torch 9800 delivered to me on launch day.

  1. October 6, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    What a great story! thanks for blogging it.

  2. October 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Great post. let us know how you get on with the BB Torch

  1. January 7, 2011 at 11:43 pm
  2. March 19, 2011 at 12:00 am
  3. April 2, 2011 at 12:48 am
  4. April 10, 2011 at 6:21 pm
  5. April 21, 2011 at 11:59 pm
  6. May 13, 2011 at 11:52 pm
  7. July 3, 2011 at 11:53 pm
  8. August 1, 2011 at 7:16 pm
  9. September 5, 2011 at 12:00 am
  10. September 5, 2011 at 2:03 am
  11. October 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm
  12. October 8, 2011 at 11:28 pm
  13. November 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm
  14. November 7, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Leave a Reply

