Home > Contemplations, Fail > In-Flight WiFi But Where’s The Outlets?

In-Flight WiFi But Where’s The Outlets?


WiFi OnBoard logo on my plane

Second posting being written from above 37,000 feet above Florida, this time northern.
On my way down to Florida for the past week and now on the first leg of my trip home I notice something. Although all 3 flights have been equipped with WiFi (for a price, but that isn’t at issue) none of the flights chairs came equipped with an outlet of any sort be it regular electrical or USB. I am well aware that my particular flights have each not been longer than 3 hours (and this one is 2) but for most people using a laptop that is the limits of our battery life. Even a BlackBerry, iPhone or Android device would be pretty drained after continuous WiFi use for 2 hours.
I understand not having electrical outlets in a way because outlets & voltage are not a global standard. USB (Universal Serial Bus) however, IS a global standard. I think the airlines (I refer specifically to Delta as that’s who I’ve flown with on this trip and I am unsure about other airlines) should have made the necessary modifications when they outfitted their planes with WiFi to add USB outlets for us to charge our mobile devices.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry from my Torch.

  1. Jon
    October 23, 2010 at 1:40 am

    Outlet on AA flights is in the armrest, but you need to buy a similar adapter to the one you would use to turn a car’s lighter into an outlet.

    It’s hard to find but it’s definitely there, I was lucky to sit next to a guy who had an extra on a recent flight to Portland, OR.

  2. October 28, 2010 at 3:19 am

    Thanks for the comment!
    I actually did look in the armrests and none were to be found. To be fair, I didn’t ask a flight attendant so I can’t categorically say they weren’t there but from my experience and attempt at finding at an outlet there weren’t any.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

