Home > Announcements, Contemplations > Review Of About.Me Personal Profiles & Announcing My Personal About.Me Page

Review Of About.Me Personal Profiles & Announcing My Personal About.Me Page


My About.Me Profile Page: About.Me/Dan_L

I recently read that the new About.Me personal profile page service was out of beta and I loved the idea of it – especially their domain name. Even if the very similar Flavors.Me has more options – I haven’t set up a page there yet so I don’t know – I still think that About.Me trumps it by virtue of its domain alone. The domain says exactly what the service is whereas ‘Flavors Me’ doesn’t.

If you want to check out my About.Me profile page it is at About.Me/Dan_L. I chose the name Dan_L because, as per usual DanLevy was already taken, and on Twitter my handle is Dan_L. I also consulted with some friends/followers on Twitter as to whether I should take DanielLevy and the feedback was to stick with my Twitter handle.

As you can see in the above screen capture of my About.Me, it serves as a one stop launcher for social media pages/identities and other links as well as a spot to put a bio and it is all on top of a nice picture – JPG, GIF, or PNG. with a maximum file size a whopping 5MB. The maximum visible background image About.Me will display is 1680×1050 pixels. About.Me’s service doesn’t stop there – they also have an analytics and data area to show the owner of a profile the amount of views their profile has received, if & where links to your About.Me are, and more. As well, according to a TechCrunch post talking about the opening of the beta they said that, “additional analytics layers are being added to show your activity on various social networks as well, if you’ve authorized About.me to access those services.

One nice touch is the option to add an “Email Me” button which, as you can see in the screen capture above of K’naan’s About.Me, doesn’t open any email program on your computer (and then giving away that person’s email address to every spammer in the world) but rather just pops up a window with no personal information being given out.

Now, some criticism about the site – First things first, they need to make it mobile friendly. I loaded my page on my BlackBerry Torch 9800 right after I set it up and I got the full-page with the full picture. If this going to be my go to page which I am going to give people who want my contact info there really should be an auto-detect/resizing/reformatting for a mobile browser – even if that means losing the background picture. More options in terms of fonts available would be nice but it’s a free service in beta with no ads so I’m not going to complain. I’d really love it if About.Me could autoscale the background picture based on the viewer’s resolution. Assuming that isn’t in the cards it would be great if there were some way to preview your profile as it will appear on different browsers and with different screen resolutions.

I would love to hear your feedback and comments on my personal profile page. Any thoughts on how I should change it? One thing I want to change is the avatar picture I have now. That is one of my favorite pictures of me, don’t get me wrong, however because of the way the me in the background picture is ‘looking’ at the bio/links box I would love to have a picture of me looking down in the direction of the main picture as my avatar. I DID think of just flipping the background image and making that my avatar but decided against it.

More Info:

About.Me’s main page here

My own About.Me here

TechCrunch’s Article regarding About.Me here

  1. December 23, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Love about.me! Mine is http://about.me/casie

  2. December 23, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Love it Casie! Nice pic by Lynsie too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

