Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Product Review: Cromwell & Cruthers Shaving Oil

Product Review: Cromwell & Cruthers Shaving Oil


During Movember (the November long worldwide fundraising and awareness building campaign in the fight against prostate cancer) I signed up for what I thought was only a sample of Cromwell & Cruthers (C&C) Shaving Oil. When it arrived I found that the small bottle is expected to last for 100 shaves! Yes, that small bottle – which is next to a standard sized Gillette shaving foam bottle & an Axe hair product container for sizing in the picture below lasts 100 shaves. I was as amazed as you are, I promise.

I finally decided today to give it a try and then write about my feelings on the product. Honestly, I had no idea what I was going to write about until I realized I needed a shave anyway. In retrospect I should have done a before & after picture of my beard and then maybe a picture in a few days of a before & after I shave with my more usual shaving foam (and the same razor) but here we are. Aside from sending me the bottle of shaving oil for free as they did to anyone else who was participating in Movember who wrote on the C&C Facebook page I do not work for C&C or have any association with them whatsoever. I am writing this review entirely of my own volition for the reasons mentioned above.

I shaved with the oil and it does give a pretty smooth shave. It has a nice smell to it too, very light but definitely there and I would say a “manly smell”. C&C says you do not need to add any aftershave of any sort because the oils naturally soak into your skin and give the same function as an aftershave and while I don’t regularly need aftershave the feeling of it on my face was – interesting. The thing about it that annoyed me to no end was the oil caused the little hairs to stick together in clumps between the blades of my Mach 3 and were a pain to clear out while shaving. I notice in the C&C video on their website they show the oil being used with a straight razor but I don’t have a straight razor – maybe someday as I have heard they are amazing – so maybe proper use of the product requires a straight razor.

One of the positives for those of us who have styled beards or goatees or mustaches that the C&C product provides is it doesn’t obscure your vision of your facial hair leading to a more precise shave if you are trying to mold & trim your facial hair. That is one of the reasons I would recommend this for product for “manscaping”…you want to be well aware of where/what you’re shaving when you’re doing that and the more you can see, the better! (Note: I have not tried to manscape with this product but if my readership would like, I will)

Another one of the positives of C&C is definitely for those of us who are frequent travelers you do not have to worry about bringing this on a plane or buying shaving foam/gel when you get to your destination. I would even say it is worth it to keep it around as I don’t see an expiry date on the bottle and it is good to have for a trip when you’re packing only to realize…you forgot Kevin! (for those of you who have no idea what I mean by that reference, please see this Home Alone movie preview here) but seriously, who among us hasn’t been packing for an early morning flight at 11pm only to realize they need some essential toiletries and then have to go find a 24 hour drug store or a variety store if all else fails. Keep one of these bottles around and you’re all set!

Would I buy this product to completely replace my regular shaving foam? No. Being a guy who prefers a clean shave – except for during Movember – I feel the Gillette shaving foam I regularly use does a fine job. From a cost perspective, however, I think the C&C Shaving Oil carries the day. I called my local Shoppers Drug Mart and asked about the cost of my standard Gillette Series Shaving Foam – $4.99 for a 255mL bottle and the cost of a bottle of the C&C $5.99. I don’t know how many shaves I get out of a bottle of shaving foam but I don’t think it’s 100 and if I can actually get 100 out of that small C&C bottle it sounds like it carries the day in the cost benefit analysis.

Have you tried this product? What did you think? Should I try to manscape with it?

[For more on Cromwell & Cruthers check out their site here]

  1. Gabe
    April 16, 2013 at 10:57 pm

    It’s not a straight razor. It’s a Double Edge Safety Razor

    • April 20, 2013 at 3:24 pm

      Thanks for the heads up, I’ll make the necessary edit soon.

  1. January 11, 2011 at 9:13 pm
  2. February 13, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Leave a Reply

