Home > Contemplations > Daily Blogging & PostADay2011 Challenge – A Lot Harder Than It Looks!

Daily Blogging & PostADay2011 Challenge – A Lot Harder Than It Looks!


Not at all what goes through my head when I am about to start blogging but it amused me to make this picture in Paint.

Before I started the WordPress PostADay2011 Challenge I always told myself the reason I wasn’t a daily blogger is because I don’t have the time, or I don’t want to force it, or I only want to post when I am inspired. I am going to be totally honest here…that was partially real and partially me giving myself rationalizations and excuses for why I am not posting on this blog more often. I only want to be truthful here in this space so I will endeavor to never spew BS – I am not afraid to call myself on it and I encourage you, the reader, to call me on it when you see me doing it.

So, as the title of this post indicates I have come to realize as I have continued in this challenge that it is hard to produce content every day that I am (and will be) proud of in the future every 24 hours. I started this challenge with this post on January 4th and thus far I think I have kept true to my word posting at least one piece of quality content every day (no, I do not consider my Oatmeal post one of those…though it is funny). The only day I think I failed to do that was with this post here and it was called #LoserKaraoke & Snow.

As such I realize that I need to do a few things to encourage this to be an easier challenge to complete.

  1. Get on a specific schedule of when I am going to write these blog posts.
  2. Try new ways of blogging to keep this whole thing interesting in more ways than just raw content generated. The form must be kept interesting as well in my opinion.
  3. Deny myself once per week or so the ability to post a topic I suddenly get inspired about and would like to blog about. Once I get onto a specific schedule I will increase that number. The reason for this is so I can build a stockpile of content for when I know I will not have time to really devote to blogging or will be without interwebs or whatever. If the stockpile gets too big I can always just give myself a “blogging vacation”.

In regard to #2 up there: I am at some point soon going to try the whole “Post By Voice” thing as outlined here by WordPress Support. It entails “calling your blog” on the phone and leaving I guess what amounts to a voicemail which becomes a blog post. I have no idea how exactly it all works so it will be a test for me as much as for you folks out there.

Further, if you have any other ideas how I can keep this interesting let me know! Maybe I will do a Video Blog Post at some point. Someone on Twitter suggested I do a drunk post at some point…maybe that will be my Birthday Blog Post (you’ll have to wait til June for that).

I have a newfound appreciation for all life bloggers I have followed and do follow. I have a newfound appreciation for blogging in general through this whole experience thus far.

  1. January 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Welcome to the daily blogger club. I’ve been doing it daily for the past three years, blogging for six in April. It gets addicting. You develop a love for sharing and your audience will grow. Don’t be shy to write only a little if you feel you don’t have time. Sometimes when I have no time, I write about that. A blog is a best friend and amazing therapy. Don’t give up 🙂

    • January 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks for the words of encouragement Casie! Like I said above – have a totally newfound appreciation for how much work you must put in to your blog – I always thought it was way easier than it actually is.
      But I do totally love it!

  2. January 30, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Good luck with the challenge. I find that it helps to have specific topics you write about each week (say, once a week). For example, at the moment, every Monday, I write about my favourite British comedies.

    • January 30, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Hmm an interesting idea. I will endeavor to try something like that but I will have to think what topic I would like to use for that kind of thing. Something to think about for sure!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

