Home > Contemplations, formspring.me > Difficult & Deep formspring Question: “If You Could Become Any Fictional Character, Who Would You Be?”

Difficult & Deep formspring Question: “If You Could Become Any Fictional Character, Who Would You Be?”


I saw this question last week on formspring.me and it took me a while to answer it.  Eventually I arrived at the answer Van Wilder – the name is a link in case you don’t know who he is or remember “National Lampoon’s Van Wilder” – and although I have also come up with an alternative “who I would like to become” I still like my original choice. However, some people were surprised by this choice so I would like to explain it some (but not fully, for that I would have to site down with you as there are way, way deeper reasons I don’t feel I should/can put here).

According to the Wikipedia entry for the movie Van is a college student who in seven years “has made no effort to graduate, instead spending his time organizing parties and fundraisers, doing charity work, helping other students, and posing for figure drawing classes.” All in all the guy sounds like a pretty nice guy who everyone likes. He is shown in the movie as being a pure leader who is also very much altruistic in his actions. His family is also shown to be quite well off and let’s be honest, inheriting a lot of money from your family is something I think most people would quite enjoy and appreciate. He is also shown to be incredibly intelligent – while not a genius – getting high marks in every one of the tests he takes at the end of the movie all which he studied for in 6 days (and they cover an entire semester’s worth of work).

I also posted this question and got some amusing answers from some friends:

I posted this question on my Facebook page and other people's answers were also quite amusing.

I was thinking about the question some more and I decided as a sort of runner up to who I would like to be I would choose either Ender Wiggin or his brother Peter from the book “Ender’s Game” by Orson Scott Card and the subsequent “Enderverse’.  If you haven’t read “Ender’s Game” I highly recommend you do, it is one of my favorite books of all time. If you do read it though, don’t judge me on the wanting to be his brother Peter…the character of Peter gets A LOT more developed in the subsequent books in the series and in order to understand my choice without me explaining it to you (a later blog post perhaps) you’d have to read a bunch of the books from later in the series.

Who would you choose?

I know that this can be answered very flippantly – like a bunch of people on Facebook seemed to do – but I think that the way you answer this question tells people quite a bit about your personality, about who you are as a person and who you would like to be as a person.

If you don’t want to answer in the comments because you’d like to remain anonymous you can email me with the link on the right side or find me on Twitter also linked on the right side. I would love to hear your answers!

Leave a Reply

