Home > Contemplations > Twitter Add These Features Already!

Twitter Add These Features Already!


Twitter home page for "New Twitter"

Ever since the advent of New Twitter I have quite enjoyed using it when I go on the site. But there are still a number of features that Twitter needs to implement and soon (in my opinion). Don’t get me wrong, New Twitter does bring some cool and needed functionality, along with GUI improvements.

However, the bulk of people I know who use Twitter regularly don’t really use the website and prefer to stick to the API accessing 3rd party applications such as TweetDeck, HootSuite, ÜberTwitter, and Seesmic. Therefore, changes like automatically showing pictures linked to in tweets on twitter.com is nice and all but nobody cares because apps mentioned above have been doing similar things for quite a while.

Features that I and other people I polled on Twitter think Twitter needs to add already. I understand there is redundancy here but whatever.

I’ll give you a hint where this is going – its all about searching!

  1. It should be possible to jump to a specific days’ tweets/@mentions/(your own) DMs
  2. The ability to search within your own tweet stream for specific words or hashtags or @mentions/@replies. *
  3. The ability to search within a specific user’s tweet stream for specific words or hashtags. *

*I am aware that you can do these searches on the advanced search page at http://search.twitter.com/advanced but its annoying to have to go to another page why isn’t it directly on the main page or even accessible via the search bar on the main page.

Do you have any other suggestions

  1. Untidytwat
    January 31, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    *co-signs*

    Also: the ability to filter out certain hashtags and words/phrases.

    TweetAgora saves me a lot of aggravation because of this key feature. Wish Twitter’s browser app had it.

    • January 31, 2011 at 11:17 pm

      I like it! I have been wishing UberTwitter would add it for a while now too.

  1. May 15, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Leave a Reply

