Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > I Fed My Dragon At Mickey’s Pizza (@FeedYourDragon)

I Fed My Dragon At Mickey’s Pizza (@FeedYourDragon)


At the end of Movember I went to Movember Challenge Karaoke (#MoChaKa was the hashtag but apparently Twitter lost the tweets mentioning it already) and won a coupon in a draw for some pizza place out in the boonies of Mississauga called Mickey’s Pizza. I had heard the name bandied about my Twitter stream and people at #MoChaKa especially @sboulton spoke very highly of it but quite honestly I shoved the coupon in my wallet with intent to get to it ‘eventually’ because Mississauga is FAR!

Then one day in mid-January I decided I was going to go. (Ya I know I should’ve written this sooner but I just never managed to edit the pics and get them off my BlackBerry and blah blah blah I have no valid excuse.) I called up my friend Ben and said:

“We’re going to get pizza!”

He said “Where?”

I said “Mississauga!”

“Mississauga?”

“Mississauga! I have a coupon for this place and it’s supposed to be unbelievable.”

“You have a coupon for a place in Mississauga and you want to drive there to get a pizza. I will buy a pizza so we don’t have to drive all the way to Mississauga to eat a pizza. Do you know how far that is for a free pizza?”

“Shut up. We’re going. It’s a hard mission to run and we’re doing it. What are you doing tonight except sitting at home?”

“OK.”

So off to Mississauga we went. It was a 30 minute drive each way but if you’re impatient  to know my feeling on the quality of the pizza at this point in the post – it was TOTALLY WORTH IT.

We went in to Mickey’s not knowing what to expect but knowing according to the coupon we were entitled to a “Chicago Pizza with 6 toppings”. Check out the before and after picture of the pizza below.

In general, I am a fan of the thinner crust style pizza like you get in New York City. This thing, however, was a masterpiece. It wasn’t like what we normally get in Toronto which is thicker crusted than New York style, this is a style of pizza that is not sitting on the fences. It is proud of its massive crust and revels in it. I was very surprised that I thought it actually delectable in all its components and didn’t find myself wishing that it was thinner crusted.

As the shop had been pretty empty when we came in about 45 minutes before closing time we got to talking with the owners of Mickey’s Pizza. Seems they had traveled near and far to find just the right way to make their pizza and even had a special sauce they imported from the USA recommended for their Miami style (a thinner crust) pizza. They also explained to us their very interesting oven (check it out below)

The Hickory VPO Barbecue Oven - the only one in Canada!

This special oven which was also specially brought in to Canada for Mickey’s Pizza is called the Hickory VPO Barbecue Oven model number VPO-54 (http://www.hickorybbq.com/vpo54.htm). It cooks a pizza at 900 degrees so it will taste great in the authentic Italian style (well done). The oven, as you can see above, is completely visual so you can watch your pizza cook from start to finish. A very nice and special little bit of technology that only Mickey’s has if you want to get this in Canada. They do things the right way that is for sure.

Just as we were finishing the mammoth Chicago style Pizza Sandi and Mick decided to spring a surprise on us. Apparently they had decided we HAD TO try their Miami style pizza with the special US imported sauce (name isn’t revealed out of respect for them but I am sure they’ll be glad to tell you themselves). So they brought us the beauty you see below. We were stuffed but we ate anyway because this thing was absolutely incredible. I really wish I hadn’t been drawn to it with its smell that was like a siren’s call and hadn’t ate it all right then because I feel my taste buds may have needed a break to properly appreciate it but I ate it. It was superb.

Miami Style (way thinner crust) with special US ONLY imported BBQ sauce

 

The end of the story is that Mickey’s Pizza RUINED PIZZA FOR ME. I will be going back there soon because every other pizza I can get in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area) simply pales in comparison.

Thanks for ruining this amazing food with your awesometastic creations. This dragon now needs to be fed a steady diet of Mickey’s Pizza often.

Oh and side note, my friend agreed it was well worth the drive out to Mississauga for this pizza.

 

Mickey’s Pizza

Hours: 4-10pm; 7 days a week.

1900 Lakeshore Road West, #8

Mississauga, ON L5J

(905) 822-1411

www.feedyourdragon.com

On Twitter: @FeedYourDragon

On Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MickeysPizza

  1. February 5, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    “It is proud of its massive crust and revels in it.” – I love that. Fantastic.

    FWIW, the hashtag was actually #mochakaTO, but the fundraiser was too far back for Twitter to handle a search. Another improvement it could make, BTW – see what I did there?

    • February 5, 2011 at 6:19 pm

      Haha oooh. Thanks for the correction! I am unsure if it is incumbent upon me as a blogger to ensure I make the necessary edit/update above or leave it as is and let people read the correction in the comments.
      Either way, yes, totally see what you did there linking back to my changes Twitter needs to make post. Love it!
      Gonna go feed my dragon tonight. I am excited.

  2. February 9, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Wow by the looks of your pizza cooker your pizzas comes out looking delicous.

  3. @clickryan
    March 23, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    I was recommended to try Mickey’s Pizza & feed my internal dragaon, and it was a wonderful surprise! Tasty flavors and for the hungry guy a lot of dough to fill me up! I will definitely be ordering again!

    @clickryan

    • March 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      So much agreement! Although I still prefer the thinner crust at the end of the day (could be based on fond memories of being in NYC & camp in NY State) Mickey’s does the Chicago style beautifully!

  1. March 30, 2011 at 9:24 am
  2. October 21, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

