Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Tasting ‘Pepsi Throwback’ Which Is ‘Made With Real Sugar’

Tasting ‘Pepsi Throwback’ Which Is ‘Made With Real Sugar’


The other week I got a can of this ‘new’ limited edition type of Pepsi, Pepsi Throwback. This Pepsi is (as stated on the can) ‘made with real sugar’ – as opposed to other sodas these days which are made with glucose/fructose aka high-fructose corn syrup because it is cheaper than real sugar. Soda companies switched sometime in the 1970s or 1980s to the corn syrup to increase profits and encourage use of domestic corn (in the USA) from what I have read online. Aside from using real sugar, Pepsi Throwback has extra vanilla and caramel when compared to modern-day/regular Pepsi. Throwback is being sold in 355 mL cans, 12-pack cases and 591 mL bottles – so sorry, you can’t get it in a 2 Litre bottle.

According to this article from Canadian Grocer here PepsiCo says Throwback will also be sold only the next eight weeks [after January 27th] on Canadian store shelves. The packaging is a replica of the Pepsi can from 1971. So if you want to try it, you got to get on that soon!I just bought a 591 mL bottle of Pepsi Throwback at the 7-Eleven location in Toronto on Bathurst south of Wilson in North York. The can pictured above I got at AdBall Va Va Vintage (which was a 1940s themed event so maybe that is why they chose to use Pepsi Throwback).

Now, what does it taste like? It is pretty good, definitely different. I think it sort of reminds me of the RC Cola I used to drink in Israel when I lived there…which is different from the RC Cola available here in North America. It is also a lot more fizzy and gassy than what we have come to expect from soda these days. In retrospect I probably should have bought a bottle of regular (current) Pepsi to truly taste test against – maybe another blog post I will do that. Also, to me it seems to have a lighter taste than regular Pepsi nowadays does. It doesn’t announce itself to your taste buds in the same way that regular Pepsi does but it makes up for that in the fizziness department. In terms of fizziness though it does not even begin to compare to “Kosher For Passover” Coca-cola which also avoids glucose/fructose aka high-fructose corn syrup as it is against the laws of Passover for a majority of Orthodox Jews to eat any corn products. That cola is so fizzy you literally have to wait 30 seconds for the fizz to go down mid-pour if you’re pouring a large enough cup (more than 8 oz) or if you want to start drinking it and not get fizz on your nose.

Have you tried this new (or is it old?) incarnation of Pepsi? What did you think?

  1. Carly
    June 25, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    Ahh!! I love how cute the can design is, definitely vintage! I would imagine the drink to be a lot sweeter than the original Pepsi! Will definitely look out for the next time I swing by the store.

    • June 25, 2013 at 9:28 pm

      Let us know if you find any since as far as I know it isn’t officially available anywhere. However, I could be wrong and they might still be selling it OR cans do last a LONG, LONG time with no ill effect to them or the product so non-high traffic store owners might still have a few cases available.

  2. Alex
    June 25, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Totally love Pepsi Throwback! I remember seeing them in a corner store nearby and saw ‘real sugar’. Can’t find them now but I hope I can grab another one again!

    • June 25, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      Ya they were really good, I agree! I have definitely seen them around relatively recently but now for the life of me cannot remember where. I wonder if someone online has a place where they track sightings of this rare soda. (Sort of like the appearance of the Shamrock Shake by McDonald’s…I’ve seen maps on websites where people report findings!)

  1. June 25, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

