Home > Announcements, Contemplations > I Believe In True Love. There, I Said It. (Valentine’s Day Blog Post)

I Believe In True Love. There, I Said It. (Valentine’s Day Blog Post)


With Al, Melissa, & Jen right after Jen & I gave the toast at Al & Melissa's Wedding

Apparently, the first half of the title statement is one not many men can/do make.

I have been told this by a number of female friends with whom I have had this discussion. I, however, have no trouble with saying this statement these days and meaning it. I used to have trouble with saying the phrase and meaning it because while I had always wanted to believe in True Love and have always been a romantic at heart I don’t believe I have ever actually been in love. (And no, I have never, ever said ‘the phrase’ to a girlfriend for my own personal gain). And by ‘I don’t believe I have ever been in love’ I guess I am saying I have never been in love because I am told it is one of those things that I will know it when it happens and until then it is ineffable.

But do you believe in True Love? As I said above I know I do. That might sound sort of strange coming from a guy who believes he has never been in love at all but nonetheless it is true. If you still don’t believe it – as many in the past have not I will be more than happy to tell you the story of how this came to be. It is, the story of the  life changing conversation that clinched my belief in True Love. Oh, and once you have read the story the reason why I chose these specific pictures for this post will make a lot of sense.

Albert, Ben, Melissa, & Me. (No groomsmen not relevant to the story were harmed in the cropping of this picture).

 

When our friend Ben met his wife Lilly he began to spend pretty much all of his time with Lilly. Albert, who had just recently come back from living abroad for a few years, would give Ben crap for never hanging out with ‘The Boys’ anymore on a constant basis. Before I continue this story I will need to fill you in on one side note:  while living overseas Al had been engaged but never went through with the wedding when it was realized they weren’t right for each other. Ben never really said anything – that I heard – in response to all of Al’s rational reasoning why he shouldn’t be spending all of his time with his girlfriend and just would invite us over to come hang out with him and Lilly at their place instead. I personally never gave it much thought at the time because Ben had always been somewhat of a hard core gamer preferring  more often than not to stay at home unless he needed to go out to get away for a bit or drink (on special occasions).

Al's last night as a free man. The night he met Melissa at the Keren Shalom singles event organized by Reuth's father (Reuth is the girl in this picture). This may be the last picture of Al as a free man, too.

 

Then one night in March 2007 I heard about a Jewish singles event from my friend Ofer being organized by our friend Reuth’s dad. I can’t remember why I decided I needed someone to go with, maybe because Ofer was already down there when I decided to go but in any case I called up Albert and told him we were going out to a Jewish singles event which was for charity. He did not want to go. I told him I wouldn’t stop bugging him until he drove down picked me up and came out to the party with me. This was a fateful night for Albert as it is the night he met Melissa.

Once Albert met Melissa he began exhibiting much the same behavior as Ben had been which Al had given him such a hard time about. One Saturday night when Al refused to, as per usual at that point, come out to wherever I was going and preferring to go over to Melissa’s and chill with her I called Al on it. I told him he never came out anymore and he was doing the exact same thing that he used to give Ben a hard time for doing not a year beforehand.

Al’s reply to my ripping on him for his hypocrisy is what sealed my belief in True Love. I will never forget his exact words:

“Dude, I didn’t understand.”

 

When he said that me it really, really resonated. Here was a guy who had been in love with a girl enough before to almost marry her – his broken off engagement – telling me that until he met a very specific someone he didn’t understand what True Love was. Before he met Melissa he didn’t understand someone wanting to spend all their time with their Significant Other to the detriment of spending time with their friends. When he said that me, THAT was the moment when it cemented in my head that there is for every one of us a True Love out there. It made it very clear to me that every one of us should get out there and find that special someone who you want to spend all your time with. That is something worth waiting and hoping for. Until then, I am going to just have to keep looking but I am excited for the day when I find her – or, rather, realize I have found her.

 

Giving the toast with Jen at Melissa & Al's Wedding. One of the biggest honors of my life and the result of dragging Al out that fateful March eve when he found his True Love, Melissa.

Do you believe in True Love? For all those like me, who are single tonight, I wish you the best of luck finding your True Love.

With that, I leave you with my warmest wishes for all those who are with someone tonight that you have an amazing evening together celebrating your love for each other.

  1. February 14, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    Dan what what a great post. I too believe in true love.

    • February 14, 2011 at 6:56 pm

      So glad you enjoyed it Esther!

  2. February 14, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Fantastic story but I think the best part was that you forced your boy to drive you to the event when you needed him as the support. =D

    • February 14, 2011 at 6:56 pm

      Thanks Justin! Ya, I love that part of the story too…if I hadn’t bugged the heck out of him he probably wouldn’t have even come out and who knows when/if he ever would’ve met Melissa. There’s also A LOT more to the story of that night that’s really cool but it was unnecessary for the post.

  3. Hanna
    February 15, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Your post was really inspiring, thanks for sharing!

    • February 16, 2011 at 1:00 am

      Thank you for your comment! I am glad to hear you found my post inspiring.

  4. suezin
    February 20, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Totallllly believe in it ♡
    Wonderful post, glad they’re so happy!!!!

    • February 21, 2011 at 11:53 pm

      Glad you enjoyed and thanks so much for the comment Suezin!

  1. July 24, 2011 at 12:45 am
  2. October 11, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Leave a Reply

