Home > Fail, Life, The Universe, & Everything > Review: Powermat Home & Office Mat with a Universal Powercube Receiver & Dual 1850 Rechargeable Backup Battery

Review: Powermat Home & Office Mat with a Universal Powercube Receiver & Dual 1850 Rechargeable Backup Battery


Powermat Home & Office Mat with a Universal Powercube Receiver & Dual 1850 Rechargeable Backup Battery

 

Recently, through the Techvibes Advent Calendar Christmas time giveaway I was lucky enough to win and subsequently receive the Powermat Home & Office Mat which came with a Universal Powercube Receiver (with 7 different charging tips). As well I received the  Powermat Dual 1850 Rechargeable Backup Battery. The reason I chose the rechargeable battery as opposed to one of the replacement battery doors which would let me drop my phone onto the mat and have it automatically charge is because Powermat has yet to make a battery door for my BlackBerry Torch 9800. But honestly, with the way the Torch eats through battery life I thought it was a blessing to have this rechargeable extra battery which I can use to charge my Torch when I am out on the go.

First things first because I am going to rip on Powermat in a bit – I really enjoy having the entire Powermat system and love being able to just drop that battery on the mat. I wish I could do it with my phone as well – maybe someday soon.

 

Oh cool! The Powercube Universal Receiver and the extra trips container magnetically hold together! Brilliant!

One of the more brilliant aspects of the system is illustrated above. The Powercube Universal Receiver and the extra trips container magnetically hold together! I thought that was pretty brilliant and discovered it by accident. Great design work Powermat!

But now, design work that wasn’t so great. If you look at the top picture you will notice on the black cube which is the backup battery there is a small button with no marking on it. This button is what needs to be pushed when you want the battery to start powering your device. Unfortunately for those of us without iPhones/iPods Powermat didn’t see fit to mention this anywhere in the instructions EXCEPT in the iPod/iPhone charging instructions for the Backup Battery. I have attached pictures of the instruction manual below. You will notice that in their “Quick 2 Step Operation” on page 4 it makes no mention of this button at all.

Powermat Dual 1850 Instructions Pages 4-5

 

On Page 5 where it talks about charging the Dual 1850 it does mention you can push this button to indicate how much of a charge the battery has (it has four little LEDs that light up) but nothing about other uses for the button.

 

Charging instruction in the Dual 1850's manual Pages 6 & 7

If you read the instructions in the attached picture above you will see that they DO mention the button in the Retractable Apple Connector section of the instructions but I didn’t bother reading that because I own no Apple products. (Ya, I might be the only guy in the world who doesn’t but I don’t.)

Instead I read the Wired micro USB Connector section expecting full instructions on the use of this new device and I was left hanging. Beyond that, the button itself lacks the universal power symbol – or any symbol on it for that matter – to indicate its use.

Quite honestly, one of the reasons I am so annoyed about this is that on my fist night out with the device – when I was so happy to have it with me – my friend’s phone died and I offered to charge it up for her. Alas, I was unable to because I had no inkling of this button’s existence.

I think this is very handy to have around (especially now that I know how to use it) but hope in the next iteration of the PowerMat Dual 1850 they put a little more thought into the design and the writing of the instruction manual.

Do you think my annoyance is reasonable or am I a fool for not noticing that ‘button’? Is it my fault as I should have read the Apple instructions as well? Let me know in the comments!

 

Powermat & Techvibes links:

Powermat Canada Home & Office Mat with Powercube PM-MHO-100CA – here

Powermat Canada Dual 1850 Rechargeable Backup Battery PM-RPP-C3CA – here

Techvibes First Annual Advent Calendar:  “Win 1 of 10 Powermat Bundles (valued at $80-100 each) from Powermat” Post

Leave a Reply

