Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > My First Full Caesar! I Went To Czehoski!

My First Full Caesar! I Went To Czehoski!


Tonight I came out with a bunch of friends who are caesar lovers – it’s a very popular alcoholic beverage in Canada, invented in Canada for all my non-Canadian readers. I also listed the recipe from Wikipedia below. It was my first ever full caesar – I have tried them before but usually trying from my friends’ drinks when they urge me to.

Part of the reason I never really got into it, I suppose, was that I am not a fan of tomatoes. I like tomato sauce, I like ketchup, but I don’t like tomatoes in my salad and I definitely do not like them whole. As such the idea of a tomato juice based beverage never really appealed to me before. However, as BlogTO recently had a series “The Great Toronto Caesar Challenge” (Link goes to “Final Results”) and my friends are such huge caesar lovers I decided tonight would be the night to try it. And if I was going to try a caesar, where better to try it than Czehoski which BlogTO rated, the best tasting.

So I went out with Joel, Davida, Amira, Michael, and Chris tonight to try my first complete caesar. I enjoyed it but maybe the buildup for their deliciousness was too much. Maybe I need to build some fond memories drinking caesars to really gain a full appreciation for them – tonight definitely helped that though! I think that taste is only one aspect of anything we consume. I think having a memory attached to the flavor, good times and good memories will always come flooding back when we taste it again. I think this has a lot to do with the fact that our smell receptors and taste receptors in our noses and mouths respectively are very closely linked and it has been scientifically proven that smells do a lot to help bring back memories.

My only concern now is that if I try a caesar again it will live up to the expectations of having tried ‘the best in Toronto’ as my first experience. I guess only time will tell!

To all you who don’t know what a basic caesar is here is the Wikipedia definitionIt typically contains vodka, Clamato (a proprietary blend of tomato juice and clam broth), Worcestershire sauce and Tabasco sauce, and is served on the rocks in a large, celery salt-rimmed glass, typically garnished with a stalk of celery and wedge of lime.

Leave a Reply

