Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > My Second Toronto Yelp Elite Event! At WAYLA Bar & Lounge In Leslieville. Thanks @YelpToronto Vivek!

My Second Toronto Yelp Elite Event! At WAYLA Bar & Lounge In Leslieville. Thanks @YelpToronto Vivek!


A few months back, in January, I went to my first Yelp Elite Event at the invitation of the amazing Vivek aka @YelpToronto.

Drinks and signs and Yelp Lib Napkins!

To rehash what I said in my previous post about what Yelp is (for those who don’t know)

If you don’t know what Yelp is, it is “an online urban city guide that helps people find cool places to eat, shop, drink, relax and play, based on the informed opinions of a vibrant and active community of locals in the know. Yelp is the fun and easy way to find, review and talk about what’s great — and not so great — in your world.”  Yelp holds these Elite Events every now and again for their Elite Squad you can check this link here to find out what the Yelp Elite Squad is all about and how to gain membership.

Yelp Elite Swag

This time I came out with the one and only Joallore aka @clickflickca and we ran into Chris aka @cbrooker an amazing guy and the creator of the iOS app Sleep Beat. (Ya, that was a shameless plug for Chris’ app which has nothing to do with this story. To be clear, I have never used it but he has explained to me what it is and it sounds cool, he didn’t ask me to plug it but I decided to because I am a big fan of Chris Brooker).

Back to the story at hand, I came out to WAYLA Bar & Lounge (WAYLA stands for What Are You Looking At) for a night of fun and looking forward to meeting fellow Yelpers and getting to know them. It is interesting, as Jo commented, how the two of us who spend so much time being social online have never met the vast majority of people in the Yelp Toronto community and how it is a completely different world from the Twitter scene. As I always love to meet new people I loved last night all the more so. There was, obviously one other thing that made me really love last night…it was sponsored by Carlsberg Beer and Absolut Vodka! There was a special Absolut Vodka cocktail called “The Look” which you can see in the picture above, as well as free bottles of Carlsberg for the beginning hours of the party.

Yelp is actually really huge in the USA from what Jo told me and I am beginning to see it get bigger every day here. According to Jo out in California people will ‘Yelp’ restaurants and bars (using the site name as a verb) in much the same way that we use the name Google as a verb when we are talking about looking up any information online. I have no doubt Vivek is the man to grow it in Toronto.

WAYLA aka What Are You Looking At? aka Carlaw Carburations - - I probably should have noticed the bright red Yelp Balloons outside but I didn't until much later.

For all those who are planning to check out WAYLA it is a great place out in the Leslieville area of Toronto but I walked past it a couple of times without knowing where it was…this is because the sign in front of it still says it is “Carlaw Carburations” and nowhere does it says “WAYLA” or “What Are You Looking At” (as far as I saw).

The whole night was just amazing and I, as usual thank Vivek for inviting me once again. I had a stupendous time. Check out the slideshow below for more pics from last night.

My review of the night on Yelp: http://www.flickr.com/photos/yelp/sets/72157626272004659/with/5576214370/

WAYLA Bar & Lounge’s Yelp listing: http://www.yelp.ca/biz/wayla-lounge-toronto

WAYLA Bar & Lounge’s website: http://www.whatareyoulookingatbar.com/

Yelp: What Are You Looking At Elites? Flickr Set: http://www.flickr.com/photos/yelp/sets/72157626272004659/with/5576214370/ (One of the pics from the slideshow is taken from here)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

