Home > Contemplations, Life, The Universe, & Everything > Going To Be Trying Out Android OS Soon – Forcing Myself To Use It To Really Get Acclimated – The Journey Begins Soon

Going To Be Trying Out Android OS Soon – Forcing Myself To Use It To Really Get Acclimated – The Journey Begins Soon


As many of my readers know I am a BlackBerry user. I have used BlackBerry devices pretty much exclusively since my switch over from Nokia devices running Symbian in the middle of 2009.

Before my switch to BlackBerry I had a long term love affair with Symbian devices made by Nokia using the s60 (or Series 60) interface starting with my first one, the Nokia 3650 in 2003. Over the next 6 years I, in order of usage (as a primary phone for an extended period of time), used the:

  • 3650
  • 6670
  • 6682
  • N80
  • N95-3.

That list doesn’t include all the other ones I played with for a few hours or days such as the: 

  • 3250
  • 6620
  • N95-4
  • Nokia E51
  • Nokia E61
  • Nokia E61i
  • Nokia E62
  • Nokia E71
  • Nokia N-Gage QD.

Finally, I switched to BlackBerry after Nokia made it clear through a lack of communication with their customers in North America that they didn’t care about us and refused to issue regular updates and support like the rest of their markets received. That, coupled with the fact that it seemed like no new innovations were happening with Nokia devices, no major software providers were formatting their mobile software for s60, the terrible way Nokia’s s60 handled email, and the so-so web browsing experience (for the time) made me leave Nokia and get my first BlackBerry – the BlackBerry Bold 9000.

I have since used for an extended period of time the Bold 9000, the Bold 9700, and the Torch 9800, the last one which I won from RIM’s BlackBerryScene Twitter account and wrote about here and am pictured celebrating on the left.

I love my BlackBerry Torch, don’t get me wrong. There is no such thing as a perfect phone, in my opinion, and there never will be. No phone has it all and no phone can do the job for every consumer – and I would be surprised if this ever changed but smarter people with more knowledge on their respective subjects than I have on this subject have been proven very wrong when making big statements like that so I hesitate to do so.

Anyway, the point of this post is as a precursor to a journey I will be taking very soon into the world of Google’s mobile OS (operating system) ANDROID.

HOWEVER, do not take this as a sign that I am leaving what is referred to on Twitter as “Team BlackBerry” with the hashtag #TeamBlackBerry. In my capacity writing for a different blog, one that is a major Canadian cellular blog – I think a lot of you know which one but as far as I can recall I have never openly stated it on here so I won’t now either – my editor wants me to start reviewing Android devices so he wants me to get acquainted with the OS a lot better than I already am.

I am not going to lie I am pretty excited about this – well I am a phone geek after all! – but I know me all too well and I know if I keep my BlackBerry on me while I am in the initial stages of getting used to whichever Android device I get to get acquainted with the operating system (and then review? I guess it depends which device i will be) I will start taking the easy route of using my BlackBerry for things because I have it with me. As such, I have decided when I get my first Android device I am going to be leaving my beloved BlackBerry Torch at home on my desk for at least the first week. That is sort of what scares me. Being in a totally new OS environment and being tempted to carry my BlackBerry with me every day when I know I shouldn’t because I need to get acclimated to the Android OS. It is going to be a serious battle of will but I think I am up to the challenge.

Android devices

I wonder which Android device I am going to get? There are so many out there it could literally be any of them. I am sort of hoping for one of the ones that has a physical keyboard simply because it is one of the things that I most do not want to give up on my general cell phone experience – physical keys and tactile feedback while typing. However, at the same time there is apparently a massive learning curve to touchscreen on-screen keyboard typing and probably the reason I never got used to using the on-screen keyboard on my BlackBerry Torch (I have been told by numerous Android and iPhone users that it is a very well done on-screen keyboard) is because it is just WAY easier to slide out my physical keyboard and start using that instead.

I am so excited. I have been waiting to get the device all week already and my patience for getting new tech toys which I know are coming is VERY limited. Every day I wake up hoping to hear that day that I got a package. Ya, I am a huge phone geek and proud of it!

  • Any apps y’all think I should download immediately?
  • Any advice you want to give me for once I get my hands on the Android OS running smartphone?
  • Any tips/tricks you want to share?

I encourage you to let me know in the comments!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. June 8, 2011 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

