Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Blogging On A Budget II: Giving Stock Images & Photos

Blogging On A Budget II: Giving Stock Images & Photos


Still dunno which one to choose.

In yesterday’s post ,”Blogging On A Budget: The Unglamorous Part – Getting Stock Images & Photos”, I talked about trying to blog on a budget and getting stock imagery. I mentioned how learning what the rights are to use images from Flickr or elsewhere on the web and knowing how to abide by the Creative Commons Licenses can be tedious. I also mentioned how knowing exactly the right thing to do in terms of correctly using the images takes way more effort than I am willing to put in when I have to post something that day for the Post-A-Day 2011 Challenge and it is 11:30pm. I still don’t even know which of the licenses to choose from the Creative Commons Licenses available on the flickr but I guess I will have to read through the FAQ they give for choosing at some point. The pictures I have thus far posted are available on my flickr stream at http://www.flickr.com/photos/danlevy/ but until I get the whole license thing worked out don’t worry – I got some pics for you right here!

So ya, this isn’t going to be a wordy post at all but I hope I make up for it in the value these photos gain for you should you ever need them. They are mundane, I know, but they are or could be useful to you at some point and then you’ll know where you can grab them. I am always open to suggestions of pictures I should take around Toronto, just let me know.

For other posts I have done in this series since I started it see:

Blogging On A Budget: The Unglamorous Part – Getting Stock Images & Photos

&

Blogging On A Budget III: More FREE Stock Images & Photos

&

Blogging On A Budget IV: Even More Free Stock Images Photos

  1. April 12, 2011 at 12:04 am

    I haven’t accurately navigated my way around Creative Commons licensing, which may be a bit stupid, due to the amount of photography and art I share on the Internet. I should definitely add that to the to-do list.

    As for blogging daily, it’s DIFFICULT, eh? I hear you on the 11:30 pm thing; you get so wrapped up in all the other details on your day that the end-of-day deadline can creep up on you. I’m happy that I’ve been able to consistently do it so far, but I know that I can’t keep it up forever without making sure to get ahead of the game.

    Alas!

    • April 12, 2011 at 12:10 am

      Agreed! I wasn’t 100% planning on doing this post today but then I looked at the clock and realized the time and thought the lack of words necessary would turn this into a quicker post…still got it done at 11:56pm – just in time – but not as quick as I thought it’d be!
      If you ever figure out all the Creative Commons stuff let me know … I figure my posting these pics here means (I think it does anyway) that I can say what the license is, it is the Dan Levy license.
      What’s the Dan Levy License? Well here it is, simple and clear:
      I’d appreciate credit and a link back but you don’t have to. Use the pics and enjoy them! Just don’t make fun of my photography skills (or lack thereof!).

  1. May 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm
  2. July 3, 2011 at 11:53 pm
  3. September 5, 2011 at 12:00 am
  4. September 5, 2011 at 2:03 am
  5. November 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Leave a Reply

