Home > Announcements > CONTEST: Get Yer @TextualityMovie Toronto Premiere Tickets Hee-ah!

CONTEST: Get Yer @TextualityMovie Toronto Premiere Tickets Hee-ah!


I was recently offered the chance to give my readers an awesome contest and because, obviously, I love all y’all I said HELL YES! They deserve something aside from becoming smarter every day by reading the thoughts whizzing through my brain.

The movie – as made obvious by the giant poster up at the top of this post – is called “Textuality”. The premiere is happening in Toronto at the TIFF Bell Lightbox on Tuesday, April 19 at 7pm. There are rumors buzzing around the interiorwebs that there is going to be a bunch of stars at the premiere too which will be uber-cool! Check below for the details how you can win.

The story is obviously a rom-com but it looks like one that guys can enjoy too. The movie is about 2 people who each want to start a serious relationship with each other but first they have to figure out how to get out of the numerous other relationships they are both in which they are managing via their BlackBerrys* and predate their meeting. The premise is all about trying to disconnect for love (it seems) and how difficult it is in today’s crazy always connected world.

Check out the trailer for the movie below:

Carly Pope picture taken from thefancarpet.com

The movie features two Canadian stars and was shot on location right here in Toronto – come to think of it maybe that’s why they chose to highlight BlackBerry, a Canadian product, as the smartphone the two main characters are managing their love lives through as BlackBerry maker Research In Motion (RIM) is headquartered a couple kilometers down the road from Toronto in Waterloo.

The movie really is a something for everyone kind of production and by that I mean its cast. The movie has the one and only Carly Pope (from Vancouver) – you may remember her as the really hot best friend from “Young People F***ing”, that movie in 2007 which did really well at TIFF and caused the Canadian Federal government to attempt to pass Bill C-10 which would allow the government to retroactively strip tax credits from films deemed “offensive or not in the public interest” by the Heritage Minister.

As well, the movie has two male leads both of whom I am pretty sure are well known to the ladies: Jason Lewis – he played a waiter turned actor named ‘Smith Jerrod’ in the last season of Sex and the City and the two Sex and the City movies (thank you, Wikipedia!)

Finally, last but not least, the movie stars Torontonian Eric McCormack who so many of us know from playing the title role of Will for 8 seasons in the show Will & Grace. I don’t think he needs much more introduction than that.

You can find out a whole bunch more about the movie by checking out their website at http://www.textualitymovie.com/.

By now you’re probably wondering…how the heck do I win those tickets Dan? When will you stop blathering on and let me know? Well here you go:

All you gotta do is tweet these words and you’re entered into the contest!

(Clarification: The second half of the tweet is a JOKE in light of the movie’s premise. I am NOT going to hold you to it!)

Get me tix to @TextualityMovie premiere @TheDanLevy & you get my hot, single friends BBM PIN. Is it cool she doesnt want anything serious?

….aaaaand GO!!!

If you really feel strongly that you don’t want to tweet the part after the ampersand don’t worry about it. Just the part up to and including my Twitter handle is cool.

This is obviously a limited time contest – I’m going to call the ending right now for Friday night at 11:59pm.

Good Luck!

*Side Note: I know I am a BlackBerry user myself but I swear that the movie is described on its own website as the relationships being managed via BlackBerry – I didn’t choose to use that brand name over other ones.

  1. April 16, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I blogged about this movie almost a year ago. I would so love to see it! Plus you know how I feel about “serious” things :p
    Well done, M. Levy

    • April 18, 2011 at 12:23 pm

      This is true lol well all I can do is wish you good luck…the draw is later today!!!

  2. April 21, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Midway State songs …can’t wait to see it!

  1. December 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Leave a Reply

