Home > Contemplations > PSA: Facebook Updates Newsfeed Settings, Doesn’t Tell To Anyone, People Disappear From Feeds

PSA: Facebook Updates Newsfeed Settings, Doesn’t Tell To Anyone, People Disappear From Feeds


I saw this “event” called ‘Facebook Issues Please Read’ on Facebook because a friend of mine, Valerie, marked herself as attending even though it isn’t an event but to help spread the word – Good job Valerie! It worked!

I also clicked attending because I figured I’d do the same but I have decided to take this one step further: I’m blogging about it tonight. I had already heard about this change from my friend C.Y. – who’s engagement party I attended the other week – but didn’t really do anything about it except change the settings for my own benefit. I figure it is high time I actually do something about it. Below is an edited version of the text in the “event info”.

Oh, and in case you are wondering there is NO mention of this at all on Facebook’s Blog http://blog.facebook.com, I checked as far back as Dec 21, 2010.

As we all know and have seen in the past, Facebook likes to make changes and not tell everyone. The event is an easy way to get the word out, and currently the only way to assure that everyone can see it on Facebook. I am, as mentioned above supplementing it with this blog post and encourage fellow bloggers to do the same.

You may have recently noticed that you are only seeing updates in your newsfeed from the same people. You may also have noticed that when you post things like status messages, photos and links, the same circle of people are commenting on them or liking them but everyone else is seemingly ignoring you. If these things occurred to you you’re probably wondering what the heck is going on…you may have even been crying yourself to sleep recently (don’t worry, no judgments).

Well I’m here to tell you that you don’t need to worry! Everyone still loves you and nobody has intentionally blocked you. The problem is that, unbeknownst to them, Facebook has done the blocking for them. The result of this is a large chunk of your friend/fan list can’t see anything you post and here’s why:

The “New Facebook” has a newsfeed setting that by default is automatically set to show ONLY posts from people who you’ve recently interacted with or interacted the most with (which would be limited to the couple of weeks just before people started switching to the new profile). As well, as far as I know no one knows what the definition of “interacted” is in the “New Facebook” standard. In other words, for both business and personal pages, unless your friends/fans commented on one of your posts within those few weeks or vice versa – you are now invisible to them and they are invisible to you!!! I am unsure, again, how having a conversation via Facebook Chat, sending/receiving private messages, inviting/receiving an invite by someone to an event, or tagging/being tagged by someone plays into what is defined as “interaction” by Facebook.

Obviously, Facebook has done this with the intent of improving people’s experience on Facebook. But doing it surreptitiously and in such a way that we don’t know what the definition of “interaction” is once we do figure out there is a problem is not, in my opinion, the best way to go about helping people have a better UX (User Experience).

So now you’re probably saying to yourself “WTF?” And “Screw you Facebook! I don’t want that!” Not to worry because….HERE’S THE FIX:

    1. On the homepage click the “Most Recent” title on the right of the Newsfeed.
    2. Click on the drop down arrow beside it and select “Edit Options”.
    3. Click on “Show Posts From” and change the setting to “All Of Your Friends and Pages”.

Note: Business pages do not have a newsfeed however page owners should adjust the settings on their personal accounts.

The good news is: now you can now view all of your friends and fans again.

The bad news is: YOU ARE STILL INVISIBLE to a large portion of people who don’t realize this issue.

The only way to fix this is if we get the word out to ALL of your friends and fans. You can do this by sending them a link to this blog (don’t bother posting it on you wall, you have to send it as a private message, duh!). You can also tweet about it, create a blog post yourself, set up your own Facebook Event and invite people, tell them about it in person, or send out an email to them in hopes of reaching them all.

I know I want to keep in touch with my friends. So, please take a minute and change your settings so you can keep in touch with your friends too! Thanks.

  1. Jackie Paulson Author
    April 24, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I am so glad you did a blog on this. Imagine all those who do not know about it. I have changed my account. I am so glad others care, like you. Have a happy Easter.

    • April 24, 2011 at 4:37 am

      Thanks for the kind words Jackie and it was my pleasure to write about it. I was considering including some pictures with the instructions on the HowTo but decided against it.
      I hope your Easter is stupendous too!

  2. April 24, 2011 at 12:59 am

    hight five!

    • April 24, 2011 at 4:41 am

      Thanks Valerie!!! Both for the high five & for the info via the event. I think C.Y. told me about how to make the setting permanent but I completely forgot about it so I kept doing it manually each time.
      I’d still love to figure out what Facebook’s definition of “Interaction” is. Also, I noticed in the settings I can’t tell it to block certain Lists from my Newsfeed which I think I’d find useful.

  3. April 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    but they did this long ago… i changed my settings like foreverago i could of sworn

    • April 25, 2011 at 12:07 am

      Hmm, well maybe I spend too much time on Twitter so I didn’t notice it so much haha. Or, maybe I am so interactive with so many people on Facebook I didn’t notice it so much. Either way, I DEFINITELY notice a difference now that I have changed the setting.

  4. Danah Ashcroft
    April 25, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks

    • April 26, 2011 at 12:30 am

      You’re most welcome! Hope it helps your Facebook experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

