Home > Announcements, Life, The Universe, & Everything > I Won A BLACKBERRY PLAYBOOK! Got To Get To Chicago To Pick It Up & Party Thurs!

I Won A BLACKBERRY PLAYBOOK! Got To Get To Chicago To Pick It Up & Party Thurs!


W00T! W00T! Remember how I asked you folks last week to help me in my endeavor to win a PlayBook from BlackBerry at their #PlayBookCHI party? Well guess what folks…I won a PlayBook!!! As you know already all last week I was getting people to tweet and retweet my name on Twitter (@TheDanLevy) along with the BlackBerry account (@BlackBerry) and the name of the party, #PlayBookCHI.

Well, today, just as people had predicted would happen, I got followed by the BlackBerry account out of the blue at 7:01pm Toronto time. As I said, people had already told me about this happening when they won a PlayBook from the #PlayBookTO event which I went to last week so I was somewhat prepared for this to happen. To be fair, I didn’t know if I was for sure going to win but I had a sneaking suspicion judging from the amount of times my name appeared with the #PlayBookCHI hashtag thanks to all you beautiful people.

Then, at 7:06pm I received this message:

Congrats! You’re a winner in the #PlayBookCHI contest! Pls respond via DM w/ your full name & email address ASAP!
Direct message sent by Research In Motion (@BlackBerry) to you (@TheDanLevy) on Apr 25, 7:06 PM.

Dan's Prospective Toronto-Chicago Road Trip For #PlayBookCHI

That Happy Dancing Snoopy above doesn’t begin to describe the gigantic smile that crept onto my face when I saw that Direct Message (aka private message). I am still waiting for the email with all the details but I am expecting it shortly. It is actually going to be one heck of a trip because my best friend who lives in London England decided this would be a great weekend to come home. As well, one of my other best friends – the three of us were like brothers in high school and in the year after when we all went to Israel together – is in town for Passover with his wife and kids. All three of us in the same city at the same time hasn’t happened in about 7 years so it is going to be a rush back to Toronto right after the PlayBook Chicago Party to hang out with the old crew which will be sweet!

OK, truth be told I probably will spend some time in Chicago…maybe go to a White Sox or Cubs game if they’re in town and definitely see my friends Matt & Ari who I haven’t seen in years either. Hmm, maybe the move should be to go to Chicago on Wednesday and not Thursday. Decisions decisions! Sort of wish I didn’t have to drive there but if I could afford a flight to Chicago then I wouldn’t really need to win a PlayBook in the first place now would I? Also, the trip is going to be EPIC with me blogging and tweeting my way there and back.

Basically, this is shaping up to be one busy next few days! WOOO!

Oh, also, if any of you have retrogradations for what I should make the hashtag for my trip to Chicago on Twitter I would love to hear it. #DanDoesIL? #DansPBRoadTrip? #DansDebacle? #DansDebauchedDrive?

Leave a Reply

