Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > REVIEW: AXE Hair Products – Natural Understated Cream & Downpour Refreshing Mint Shampoo

REVIEW: AXE Hair Products – Natural Understated Cream & Downpour Refreshing Mint Shampoo


In mid-March I received the care package you see above from AXE Canada online community manager Guneet Singh (@AXECanada on Twitter) who clearly works with Harbinger Ideas, judging by the card in the picture above. The reason this has taken me so long to post is because I was uber-busy since then and didn’t have a chance to get a haircut. Therefore, my hair was too long to use with the styling cream I was sent and because that will be the main portion of this review, I decided to wait.

First things first, the shampoos. Both AXE Downpour Refreshing Mint Shampoo (green) & AXE Zen Soothing Tea Tree Shampoo (purple) smell really good in my opinion but, then again, I don’t think I’ve ever smelled a shampoo with a rank, unpleasant smell. Both shampoos definitely score well above average when smelled from the bottle in my books. I’ve only really used the AXE Downpour Refreshing Mint Shampoo and I enjoy the smell of it in the shower, for sure. It lathers up nicely and leaves my hair clean so no complaints there either.

One amusing thing did happen to me when I had just recently used the Downpour shampoo: I was sitting in the car with two friends, my friend Sara was in the back seat. We were talking about randomness and then she looked at me and Noah and asked which of us smelled really good. She soon concluded it was me and started smelling my hair continually, which was vaguely amusing to me because it was just like in all those AXE commercials! For once TV didn’t lie! I should mention, however, that I was also that day wearing Michel Germain: séxual sugar daddy so the two smells may have been complimenting each other, I don’t know. She did say that the smell was in my hair though and I don’t spray cologne in my hair so I don’t think it was the cologne. She then went on to rave about how women would kill for my hair because it’s so soft but I have been honestly hearing that from women for YEARS so I’m just lucky there I guess.

My hair has always been very fine and straight and therefore whenever I tried to use a gel like many of my friends I ended looking bald as all my fine hair would bunch together and it just wasn’t pretty. For me, the first product I ever found that just worked well was via my buddy Jon. He had this stuff called Dove Defined Texture Molding Cream and I tried it once when we were on a trip and I didn’t have anything with me to make myself look sexy. I absolutely loved the stuff once I tried it and began buying it for my own regular use. Unfortunately for me, they decided to discontinue it a bunch of years later and leave me in the lurch. I wasn’t exactly pleased with the situation but in order to rectify it I went out and bought 6 containers of my ideal hair styling product (the Dove cream) at a store that still had some and used it for quite a while afterwards – it literally would take me 4-6 months to finish one of those containers. I was, however, always on the lookout for more of this product even stopping in pharmacies in New York City and Miami when I was in those cities and I saw a random pharmacy just to check if they had it there. (They never did).

When I finally ran out of my 6 containers – my older brother helped when he saw the Dove hair product in my bathroom and took a big dollop assuming it was skin cream – I needed to find something different but hopefully the same. I called Unilever and they recommended I try AXE Charged Spiked-Up Look Putty (in the picture to the right it is the one with red letters) and they were even awesome enough to send me a coupon for it to try it out free! I bought some and it was pretty damn good however, it simply did not replace in my heart my dearly departed Dove Defined Texture Molding Cream.

And then, as if he somehow sensed my need, Guneet contacted me randomly through the magic of the Twiter – this may have been because I raved about the awesomeness of Unilever’s customer care hooking me up as they did and recommending which product would replace the old product. People have laughed that I called but the way I figured it, who better would know what product in their lineup would replace the Dove Molding Cream better than Unilever the company that made it? In any case, Guneet sent me, in a package, 3 new hair products which I believe AXE Canada just released: AXE Natural Understated CreamAXE Downpour Refreshing Mint Shampoo, & AXE Zen Soothing Tea Tree Shampoo and asked me to try them out, no strings. Who wouldn’t say yes to that?

So once I finally got my hair cut I knew it was time to see if this new product from AXE would be the heir to the Dove Defined Texture Molding Cream throne. To put it bluntly, it absolutely is. I can’t tell you they’re the same exactly but it definitely is leaps and bounds better than AXE Charged Spiked-Up Look Putty and every other company’s hair styling product I have tried since the Dove product was taken off the market. Oh, and if you want some of the AXE Charged Spiked-Up Look Putty I have one and a half containers of it which I’ll probably never ever use. Long story why I have extra one and unimportant for the purposes of this post.

All I know, is if you have fine, soft, and straight hair like me or if you were a fan of the aformentioned now discontinued Dove product, GIVE THIS STUFF A TRY!!!

A VERY good substitute. If you loved the Dove product like I did I HIGHLY recommend trying AXE Natural Understated Look Cream.

  1. Danah Ashcroft
    April 29, 2011 at 8:35 am | #1

    you should be a buzz marketer.

    Have you tried “got to be” products? I use theirs myself.

    I don’t see me trying axe as I do not meet the gender profile and I am sure there is some man smell to it. Still good to know that it is a good product and that the ads don’t lie about fawning women.

    • April 29, 2011 at 6:54 pm | #2

      I tried ‘got to be’ products I believe and I wasn’t so impressed in comparison to the Dove stuff and I haven’t given a try in years so maybe there’s something better out there, I don’t know.

      I will look into being a buzz marketer haha, thanks for the suggestion!

  2. May 10, 2011 at 12:30 am | #3

    It’s good product. Every men should use it..

  3. September 1, 2011 at 2:41 pm | #5

    After years of trying many, many different hair styling products I FINALLY found one that WORKS!! Its called the Shielo Bounce Style Creme (from Shielo’s VOLUME collection).

    I love this product. I tried it out for a few days before leaving a review and wow, five stars…my hair gets better everyday.

    I put a quarter size amount all through my shoulder length hair after getting out of the shower (a very little bit goes a long way!) and then let my hair dry half-way naturally. Then, I finish drying with a blow dryer with my head upside down. When I flip my head back up, every hair falls into place! No frizz, no flyaways, no frustration! Every single hair is straight and my head feels gloriously soft. I curl the ends under with a flat iron and then I’m done. 20 minutes of hair styling when it used to take me hours to tame my frizz hair. Thank you, Shielo!!

  4. September 1, 2011 at 4:33 pm | #6

    Thanks for the tip Melissa.
    Have you tried the Axe product to compare it to the Shielo product? I know it is really aimed at guys but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work for the ladies too.

  5. September 2, 2011 at 8:45 am | #7

    I bought it yesterday. Thank for sharing and i’m really agree with you. : )

    • September 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm | #8

      Glad to hear it Uyunq!
      Which of the three products are you referring to? If you are referring to the “Natural Understated Cream” were you also a user of the “Dove Defined Texture Molding Cream” before they discontinued it?

      • September 7, 2011 at 5:37 am | #9

        Nope. Not this one. But i have a plan to write in my blog http://natural-hair.us. And i could share to every one who loves the natural hair.

        Thanks, uyunq

  6. Realmadrid
    October 8, 2011 at 9:33 pm | #10

    Well after reading this i have to say that the axe understated look product is definitely the best. I never used gel/styling products but seeing how my hair is thick and honestly just whack i decided to get this axe product. I like for my hair to be flat on the sides but without that shiny hard look. This is what i needed all along! It’s has a very natural look and smells great and best of all lets you style your hair how u like too. So try it out, great story btw, very helpful.

    • October 9, 2011 at 9:21 pm | #11

      Glad to hear you enjoyed it Realmadrid. I actually am not using any styling stuff right now because my hair is too short (I shaved my head really short in late July) but I have my Axe Natural Understated Cream ready for when I once again have hair long enough to justify using it. It is definitely my go to hair product right now. Thanks so much for the comment.

  7. Danny
    October 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm | #12

    I’m kind of on the fence with this one because I’ve tried Axe’s pomade (purple container) and it left my hands sticky when I would run my hand through my hair. Does this do the same thing? I don’t really want to spend about $8 for something I might use only once.

    • October 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm | #13

      Danny, I don’t notice any stickiness when I run my hands through my hair with the Natural Understated Cream but as of late my hair has been really, really short so I haven’t been using it. (As you can see in the pictures in this post http://wp.me/pVpvJ-HA I shaved my head this summer.)

      However, if you are concerned with spending the $8 on a product you’ll only use once I suggest calling Unilever as I did and speaking to them. If you read my post above you’ll see this piece:
      “I called Unilever and they recommended I try AXE Charged Spiked-Up Look Putty and they were even awesome enough to send me a coupon for it to try it out free!”

  8. Danny
    October 23, 2011 at 2:11 am | #14

    Dan Levy :

    Danny, I don’t notice any stickiness when I run my hands through my hair with the Natural Understated Cream but as of late my hair has been really, really short so I haven’t been using it. (As you can see in the pictures in this post http://wp.me/pVpvJ-HA I shaved my head this summer.)
    However, if you are concerned with spending the $8 on a product you’ll only use once I suggest calling Unilever as I did and speaking to them. If you read my post above you’ll see this piece:
    “I called Unilever and they recommended I try AXE Charged Spiked-Up Look Putty and they were even awesome enough to send me a coupon for it to try it out free!”

    Cool, I’ll call Unilever and if that doesn’t work then I’ll go out and buy it now that I know that it doesn’t leave your hands sticky. Thanks for info :)

  9. BJ
    June 26, 2012 at 3:57 am | #15

    Thank you very much for the info. I had not found anything to replace the Dove product, although got2b playful is a decent second choice. I will definitely try the Axe cream based on this recommendation!

    • June 26, 2012 at 11:20 am | #16

      BJ: It was my pleasure to provide the info but in a trip to Shopper’s Drug Mart this morning I was told that they have discontinued the product! Believe me, I was quite disappointed to hear this especially given the fact that the product is still listed on the Axe Canada website at http://www.axe.ca/#/axe-products/natural-understated-look.

      I have tweeted at Axe Canada and await a reply but am likely going to be emailing them as well about this. I will also most assuredly be looking into the got2b playful that you mentioned as maybe it will be a worthwhile successor to the Dove product and the Axe product.

      Or, maybe I should just stock up on the Axe product via an online store and not worry about this for the next little while then cross the bridge at a later date.

  10. BJ
    June 26, 2012 at 10:16 pm | #17

    Thanks. Maybe they meant that their store has stopped ordering it, because it also appears at theaxeeffect.com as of today. The got2b product is OK but is not as “moldable” as the
    Dove. Can’t compare to Axe Understated because I have not tried it yet, but I will soon….

    • August 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm | #18

      BJ: You were right, I finally got around to actually called Axe as they did not reply to my tweets and the lady on the phone told me that they 100% still do make the product and likely it was Shoppers Drug Mart that stopped carrying it. She suggested I check Wal-Mart, the Real Canadian Superstore, or a Zellers. As well, I found two containers of the Axe product two days ago in a Rexall Pharma Plus on Mt Pleasant south of Eglinton in Toronto and bought them both.

  11. Jim
    May 28, 2013 at 3:21 pm | #19

    Can’t decide between Axe Spiked-up & Axe Understated. My hair has normal thickness when kept on the shorter side. Don’t want shiny or crunchy like gel. You’ve tried both products. Any advice?

    • May 29, 2013 at 11:07 am | #20

      I have 2 suggestions for you:
      1)Call up Unilever and tell them you’re having a difficult time with this decision and hopefully they’ll send you a coupon like they sent me so you can try one of the products absolutely free!
      2)I haven’t tried the Spiked-Up since I found Understated (2 years ago) but I think I still have some lying around. Assuming I do, I will try it out and get back to you here as to why I prefer Understated. Cool?

      • Jim
        May 29, 2013 at 11:51 am | #21

        Sounds good. Thanks!

      • Jim
        June 19, 2013 at 11:53 am | #22

        Any luck with this? Just curious if you had the chance to experiment & report. Thanks!

      • June 19, 2013 at 12:00 pm | #23

        Jim: Unfortunately I think I threw out the other container of the other type of Axe so I haven’t been able to test it. Have you tried calling Axe & seeing if they’ll give you a coupon to try the product?

      • Jim
        June 19, 2013 at 3:47 pm | #24

        Just got off the phone with them. Coupon is on its way. Guess we’ll see how it works. Thanks!

      • June 19, 2013 at 3:52 pm | #25

        Awesome! Happy to hear it.

  12. February 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm | #26

    the pro naturals hair repair mask is great moisturizing the hair. And the argan-oil- made shampoo and conditioner leave the hair super clead, shiny and soft. They are all sulfate, alcohol and chemical free

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

