Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Why I Love Twitter: Michael ‘The Commish’ Chiklis Is Wowed That @TweetSmarter Answered His Tweet

Why I Love Twitter: Michael ‘The Commish’ Chiklis Is Wowed That @TweetSmarter Answered His Tweet


Oh Twitter how I love thee, let me count the ways.

OK, enough of that “love sonnet”, you all know I am a big fan of Twitter, social media, the interwebs, gadgets, and technology in general but today while I was considering writing a completely different post I stumbled across this exchange and it made me smile. It was then I decided to switch my post for today and write this one.

I was on the Twitters tonight and I noticed this exchange between Michael Chiklis and Dave or Sarah Larson, the couple behind the Twitter account @Tweetsmarter.

EDIT: After speaking with Dave Larson via @TweetSmarter on Twitter (he replies to me too! Does that make me as cool as Michael Chiklis?) and getting a comment from Dave on this post it is clear that it was Dave who was speaking to Michael Chiklis in the tweets mentioned below. Also, sorry to Dave & Sarah for spelling their name “Larsen” earlier – I was in a rush to get this posted before midnight for the Post-A-Day 2011 Challenge and messed up, my bad. It is fixed now.

At first I couldn’t believe it was actually the ‘real’ Michael Chiklis who was behind the @MichaelChiklis account thinking it might be some guy who just happens to have the same name as the famous actor. A quick look at https://twitter.com/#!/MichaelChiklis showed me that this was the actual actor Michael Chiklis. This was a man who I first knew as “The Commish” back in the 90’s, the guy from that show The Shield which everyone says I gotta watch but I have never gotten around to it, and Thing from the recent Fantastic Four movies, and the Jim Powell from the new show No Ordinary Family.

I love how Twitter brings everyone to a level playing field and people who 10 years ago were celebrities and therefore they were people who someone like me or you would never get to talk to are now interacting with their fans around the world in one on one communication. More so than that, Twitter has changed the game so much that not only do we get to talk to celebs like Michael Chiklis or Alyssa Milano (@alyssa_milano), Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk) but sometimes they are the ones wowed when a member of the “Twitterrati” speaks to them! (As in the exchange above.)

Michael Chiklis’ exact tweet is “@TweetSmarter HA! Didn’t think you’d reply! Very cool indeed!

That is how I’d feel if Michael Chiklis responded to one of my tweets…I’d probably have to do a happy dance if he ever retweeted me (I think I might actually just pass out if he comments on this blog post just from my brain not being able to handle the awesomeness that would be Michael Chiklis commenting on my blog). Though, come to think of it, I don’t actually follow him, or Ashton Kutcher, or Alyssa Milano. Maybe I should start? Hmmm, I will check out their tweet streams and see if they’re actually posting interesting stuff and then I will make a decision just as I would with anyone else. No special treatment because they’re rich and famous from me!

Oh and by the way, @MichaelChiklis has 45,547 followers…so he isn’t exactly hurting in that department.

If you don’t yet follow @TweetSmarter I very highly recommend you do! I know I do, and they have 260,157 other followers too (5.7 times as many as Michael Chiklis – but his ratio of follwers to following is tons better…either way it boils down to a question of engagement with their respective followers).

  1. May 18, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Michael is great, long been a fan. As I always tell people, with Twitter, you get to connect to the whole world 🙂

    • May 19, 2011 at 1:53 am

      So much agreement! Twitter is truly one of the most amazing things ever invented. Using it is one of the things that makes my days even more awesome on a regular basis.

  2. May 18, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    One of my proudest days on Twitter was when @Questlove from The Roots (one of my favourite bands of all time) retweeted something I wrote.

    Raymond AKA The Funky Barrister.

    • May 19, 2011 at 1:52 am

      Nice, I love it! Did you favorite the tweet? I favorite-ed the tweet from @MichaelChiklis!

      • May 19, 2011 at 11:41 am

        Not then. I have since found it this morning (Why does Twitter not have a date range search function?) and favourited it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

