Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > #FreedomTO Was Amazing

#FreedomTO Was Amazing


Last night, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I went to “Freedom” at The Guvernment nightclub. I had an absolutely amazing time there dancing the night away to the tunes being played by the one and only Armin van Buuren.

When I got to The Guvernment I went straight to Kool Haus where Blake Jarrell had just started his set. Although he played a pretty good set it wasn’t half as good, in my opinion, as when I saw him spin during Armin’s A State of Trance Episode 450 tour’s Toronto stop last year – which was also at The Guvernment. Then, at 1:30am, Armin arrived on the decks. He started with one of the fastest (hardest) openings I have ever heard him go into and from there it was just awesome track after awesome track completely blowing my mind. I danced the night away until the end of Armin’s encore at 5:30AM (he was scheduled to finish spinning at 4:30 but decided to stay, thankfully) and the crowd – me included – just wanted MORE!!!

Armin, in my opinion, is truly one of the greatest DJs in the world right now and I love it every time I see him. I can’t wait until he comes back to Toronto again. His set was positively transcendent.

I also want to say a humongous thank you to the folks at INK Entertainment, Maria @MariaPie Pielarska, and Brad @pshag Machry for hooking me up with the ticket to attend because without them my night at The Guvernment dancing my legs off would not have been possible. I always LOVE going there and have an amazing time every time I am there. If you live in Toronto and have yet to go to see a DJ spin at The Guvernment I am strongly encouraging you to get there ASAP. We are talking about one of the world’s greatest ‘superclubs’ and it is right in your own backyard if you live in the Greater Toronto Area. I also recommend that if you don’t already follow them on Twitter – @the_guvernment – or Facebook http://www.facebook.com/TheGuvernment then you should immediately because they are ALWAYS updating us with the latest scoop on what the best events in Toronto are coming up as well as CONSTANTLY doing giveaways for great DJs and great events via online presence. Beyond that, even if you can’t make it physically to the events the Guv’s online channels do a great job of providing you with live on the scene updates, pictures, and video of the events as they are happening so it is almost like you are there.

Below, check out a video from the end of his set when he played Going Wrong which is his own track made with DJ Shah and featuring Chris Jones. It is one of my favorite recent Armin tracks, that’s for sure, and it is also one of his most well known and “commercial” tracks. This is part of the reason I chose to video it – because even if you aren’t a big fan of trance or Armin there is a pretty good chance you have heard the song. Another reason I chose to video that part is because there was way, way less bass than the rest of the set so you are way more able to appreciate the music in the video – as a rule of thumb phone microphones and pounding bass beats don’t play nicely with each other.  I’ve also added a gallery below with a whole wack of pictures I took last night of the The Guvernment’s Kool Haus. What a night.

Gallery of photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Click the tiles below for the full resolution versions of each photo.

  1. jason
    May 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I had a great time here. Armin kept up the energy from begining to end. This was the first time I’ve been to The Guv/Kool Haus and it was pretty mind blowing. I think you were right behind me in your first picture.

    • May 27, 2011 at 2:53 am

      Very cool! Glad you came out and enjoyed as much as I did. Was it your first time seeing Armin?

      • jason
        May 27, 2011 at 10:11 am

        No, I went to one of the 450 events in NYC. That was my first trance event and first time in New York City so it was all a bit overwhelming but I had a blast. Needless to say, his set in TO blew that show right out of the water!

      • May 27, 2011 at 2:00 pm

        Very cool! His set in Toronto for ASOT 450 was absolutely amazing. This one was longer but for me I think they were equally awesome. Also, his supporting DJs did an incredible job at the Toronto ASOT 450 which I think helped the experience that much more!
        But ya, in my experience – only been to a few live sets in NYC myself and never been to Electric Zoo…YET! – shows I have been to in Toronto are better than in NYC. I think it is also the venues themselves which add to it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

