Home > Contemplations, Tech-Etiquette > Please Stop Asking Questions That Are Easily Answered By A Google Search

Please Stop Asking Questions That Are Easily Answered By A Google Search


Really. It is enough already people. Are you that freaking lazy?

What annoys me so much about this is that the people who I find ask me these questions the most are the ones who are very well versed in using the Interwebs and searching online for whatever they need in general. This is what I find most annoying and why I feel you have no excuse to ask me such questions. Google is only a click away people, use it!

I have made a decision – next time you ask me a question that is easily answerable by a quick Google search – such as the address of a place or directions to a place I will hang up on you and simply not answer your phone call next time you call. This also goes for people who ask me the dress code for a venue. All you have to do is Google it and go to their website – if it doesn’t say it there then you can call them and ask don’t ask me. If that doesn’t work then I suggest you treat leaving your house on any occasion as a black tie event and dress accordingly. You will never be under-dressed again!

Try turning your brains on people.

Posted from WordPress for Android on the HTC Incredible S.

  1. Danah Ashcroft
    June 6, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Maybe they ask you because they trust you more than random results from google?

    • June 6, 2011 at 5:37 pm

      For directions to a venue and address of the venue? Where do you think I am getting it from if not Google? OK fine, maybe Bing but I usually don’t know it off the top of my head.

  2. June 6, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I can understand if someone asks a question on Twitter or by email that can be answered by a quick search engine query, it’s a bit frustrating and redundant. But by telephone? I’d like to think you wouldn’t hang up on me if I was driving there, running a bit late, and needed some help with something. I think what this all boils down to is WHO is asking. I find I get more frustrated with people who typically can not think for themselves and have a track record of ignorance. If someone who is generally pretty bright and self sufficient runs into some trouble every now and then, I find I’m a bit more forgiving.

    • June 10, 2011 at 8:54 am

      Ya, this is true. It probably would depend on who is asking and how it is happening. However, often times it is the uber lazy who run other people’s kindness for the rest of us. I just got so sick of ridiculous questions of laziness that that is what prompted that post. It was actually when someone called me and knew I was the one in a rush – I was about to go somewhere and was headed into the shower before I left – and they called to ask me where I was going that night, where it was, when I was going, and then had the audacity to ask me to text them the address to where I was going. It was the straw that broke the camel’s back.
      And don’t get me wrong, I have asked my own lazy questions on Twitter BUT I will admit I am being lazy when I ask it and won’t ask it of anyone in particular, I’ll just ask the general population.

  3. Harald
    June 6, 2013 at 6:51 am

    Welcome to humanity. Most people want people to do the work for them, and when an answer isn’t provided, they’ll happily go on remaining ignorant about the issue. This is a fact, and has been since the dawn of the written word. Before internet became widely available, people had to pick up a book to inform themselves, and god forbid somebody had to do that… I mean, it’s hard work.

  1. June 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm
  2. June 17, 2012 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

