Home > Contemplations > Blogging: To Edit/Delete Or Not?

Blogging: To Edit/Delete Or Not?


Dan Levy blogging at laptop keyboard...OK technically this is a posed picture but that IS my hand and that IS my laptop from where I blog.

I have a quandary which I thought I would take to you folks, the readers of my blog. Thus far a whole bunch of people have read my post from 2 days ago – “Religion of Convenience Doesn’t Count As Being Religious“. I have gotten A LOT of responses from it, mostly off the blog in the real world.

I can’t remember who said it and I am probably paraphrasing the quote but a journalist or artist of some variety once said “If I’m not making you angry, I’m not doing my job.” Maybe no one said it and that can be attributed to me. Either way, I am not in the business here of trying to make people mad. I am not in business here at all as a matter of fact. This blog is being written for fun and for the Challenge of Post-A-Day. That night, that was what struck me.

More about the situation has since been explained to me but there is a lesson in there – perception is KEY. Don’t leave information out, no matter how trivial you think it is when you are asked a very specific question. People can get the wrong idea very easily. In fact, it turns out that that person DID speak to their local rabbi and the rabbi DID say that it is completely OK to take the Mezuzas when they left the house.

But here is the quandary I am left with. That post angered some people whose opinions I value. They really, really, REALLY did not like that I wrote that post. Sure, I got some great feedback from other people and it opened a lot of discussions about religion – I even got someone who wanted to write a response blog post on my blog. But here is my question to you, dear readers:

Is it OK for me to remove that post?

Does the fact that I already wrote it and published it mean it should stand and be untouched? Do I even have the right to remove it from the online discourse once it has been entered into it? I obviously know I CAN remove it from my blog. I obviously have the ability to just edit it into nothingness with a few clicks of a few buttons but is that intellectually honest for me to do?

Please – let me know what you think. I will take all your opinions into consideration.

  1. June 22, 2011 at 1:09 am

    You need to keep it up just the way it is…

    This is your blog, where you discuss your thoughts, opinions, and how you’re thinking and feeling on a given day. People don’t need to like it, they can disagree or agree with you, it’s their choice to read your thoughts, you’re just putting it out there for us to ponder on. Obviously we’ll comment if we disagree with what you say, but that opinion is yours. My friends and I get into arguments quite often, sometimes they get kind of heated, but that exchange of ideas makes us closer as friends, it brings trust and value of each others opinions.

    Plus, deleting or editing that post would ruin your PostaDayChallenge. You’d either have no post for that day or it would be your thoughts over a course of a couple days. I see no problem that you didn’t quite have all the information available to you when you posted it. Sure, it would have been better, you might not have felt the same way, but you expressed what you were feeling at that time. Isn’t that the point of your blog? Nobody can knock you for that…

    I agreed with that blog post, I’m not Jewish, but I understand where you were coming from. Religion isn’t the only place in society that people pick and choose what they like and will do. Too many people today half-ass things and think they’re better for it, but in reality they’re just as bad as the people who they look down upon.

    Keep the post up just the way it is, and keep on doing what you’re doing Dan.

  2. June 22, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Dan,

    As I understand it, your original post was incorrect in that you didn’t have all the information about the situation with the Mezuzas.

    From my perspective, you cannot leave the post up as is, because it’s inaccurate. If someone were to Google the issue of leaving Mezuzas in a home after it is sold to Jewish buyers and came across your original post, they would be left with an inaccurate picture of the actual situation.

    That said, you shouldn’t edit the main body of the post to reflect the new information. That gives in inaccurate impression on what you initially wrote (and the comments would no longer make sense)

    However, you shouldn’t take it down either.

    I think the solution would be to keep the original post as is, however add an update at the bottom of the post. That update would outline the more accurate infomation you received about this situation. You could also add any supplementary thoughts about the issue, now that you have the whole picture.

    Just my $9.62 (at Legal Aid Rates) worth. 🙂

    Raymond AKA The Funky Barrister

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

