Home > Contemplations > Toronto Honda Indy 2011 Fun Times (#HondaIndy)

Toronto Honda Indy 2011 Fun Times (#HondaIndy)


us with Bud girls

Today, as I mentioned yesterday, I went to the 2011 Toronto Honda Indy courtesy of Budweiser Canada.

My first mistake was sleeping in a bit today – granted, I had an epic night last night but that’s neither here nor there.

We got into the Budweiser Winner’s Circle at about 2:30 and the race was already underway. I had never seen anything like it but I feel as if the appreciation for the actual sport of live racing (as opposed to on TV) would be helped quite a bit by watching it on TV first. That, or getting there early enough to get really high up seats. The action there happens so fast and only for seconds at a time that I really didn’t 100% know what I was watching. I feel like watching it on TV would also help people be able to help someone pick the prime spot.

The view below is what we saw from the seats we got in the Budweiser Winner’s Circle VIP area.

image

Obviously, the Budweiser Winner’s Circle VIP area was absolutely ELECTRIC! There were coverbands, Bud girls, beer, food, and just an overall awesome atmosphere.
image

It was also a gloriously hot day with quite a strong sun. Stupid Dan (that was me right when I woke up and was in a rush without my brain firing on all cylinders) looked out the window (I did open it too) when he was getting dressed post shower and saw a bunch of clouds. He also decided he totally felt a cool breeze and so opted for a long sleeved shirt from Club Monaco made of 60% acrylic, 20% polyester, & %20 cotton. That’s a shirt that I usually only wear in the fall & winter – totally not suited for weather with humidity in the mid-30s celsius (mid-90s fahrenheit). I don’t know why Stupid Dan decided to wear that shirt with jeans – what a bad call.

Thankfully, I brought sun glasses even though I also debated bothering with those this morning. Next time, I REALLY need to check the weather before I get dressed/go out.

Seeing the Indy race today made me really wanna go out to Talladega Superspeedway, and like Ricky Bobby, “I wanna go fast.” Maybe someday…

Note: I am well aware that at Talladega Superspeedway they race stock cars and the Toronto Honda Indy is an F1 Indy race. I still felt the comparison was apt, and maybe because I am not an auto-racing connoisseur.

  1. July 11, 2011 at 12:27 am

    not an F1 race in Toronto buddy 😉

    • July 11, 2011 at 12:33 am

      So if it isn’t a stock car race and isn’t an F1 race what kind of race is it?

  2. July 11, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I just have been told that apparently there are THREE types of auto-racing: Indy, F1, & Stock! Wow, I had NO idea. I have made the necessary adjustments to the post above.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

