Home > Contemplations > The Times They Are A-Changin’: Children’s Books Today

The Times They Are A-Changin’: Children’s Books Today


My friends just had a manly, baby boy yesterday and someone bought them a baby gift – a book. Below, check out the front cover of the book.

 

The title of the book is different than any of the baby books I remember from my days and those of my younger brother and cousins. As Bob Dylan said: “The times they are a changin’.” I couldn’t agree more with this sentiment – although it was first espoused in 1964, when that song was released I really see it more than anything today. Then again, maybe “baby” stuff like this has existed since I was a baby but my parents/family were too conservative to ever buy something like it. Have all y’all ever seen something like this before? How long ago? 90s? 80s?

Check out one of the pages which I took a picture of and posted it below, interesting rhyme isn’t it? Very kid friendly, right? Right?!?!?!

  1. Danah Ashcroft
    July 15, 2011 at 8:15 am

    you can get the audio book version of this read by Samuel Jackson as well.

    • July 15, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      Why am I not surprised by this? Haha, that sounds awesome – – great for any kid to fall asleep to!

  2. October 18, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    all the time i used to read smaller articles that also clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece of writing which I am reading now.

  3. April 15, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome site!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

