Home > Contemplations > International Symbol Of Toronto Is City Hall? Really!?!?

International Symbol Of Toronto Is City Hall? Really!?!?


image

In the picture above is a pin which I and my friend @MichaelNus received from the City of Toronto when we went there to get the letter from the Office of the Mayor of Toronto, Rob Ford, for Social Media 2011. The pin is the representation of Toronto’s City Hall building in Nathan Phillips Square. According to a card I got with the pin (full disclose: I got the pin on a card when I went there for the Foursquare Day Toronto 2011 letter) it says that the building is an international symbol of Toronto. To that all I have to say is – REALLY?!?!?!? I am sorry but without taking a formal poll I would be willing to bet that more people from around the world recognize the CN Tower as a symbol of Toronto over our city hall building.

CN Tower from the parkette on the north side of Queens Quay at +43° 38' 22.35", -79° 23' 4.41"

I am not trying to take anything away from the city hall building. It is one heck of a cool building. I am also given to understand that the building is renowned as one of the more interesting buildings in the world from an architecture standpoint. However, the bulk of the world are not architects or architecture geeks.

Maybe the CN Tower was too cliche for them to put it on the pin? I don’t know. What I do know is that I refuse to believe that the Toronto City Hall building, as majestic as it is, designed by Finnish architect Viljo Revell is the internationally recognized symbol of Toronto. I’d put SkyDome aka the Rogers Centre up in second place but Toronto City Hall? Maybe, just maybe, it breaks the Top 10.

What do you think? Am I right on this? Wrong?

  1. October 4, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Western (UWO) has used a tower as their logo for just over ten years now. The difference is that they’ve already invested in re-branding, so the logo may change soon: http://bit.ly/om8VZk

    • October 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      Interesting Sarah, but if that is the symbol of UWO and is a recognizable part of the campus I don’t see why they wouldn’t use it. The issue I was talking about was whether or not I thought people from outside Toronto would recognize city hall as the symbol of the city. Beyond that, do people around the world know of the University of Western Ontario like they do the City of Toronto? I would be willing to bet that the average person in Europe doesn’t even know there is a London, Ontario let alone a university there. The target market, in my mind, for recognition of the logo is completely different between UWO & Toronto. Thanks for the link and for reading!

  2. Alex A
    October 6, 2014 at 3:04 am

    Yes, I know this is a very old post as well, but I will comment anyway. Yes, really. The city hall building is very distinctive. There can’t be another building anywhere that looks just the same. As for the CN tower, well, yes it is very well known, probably more so than the city hall, but when you get right down to it, it is a tower with a lump on it. There are many towers with lumps on them in the world. Some of them with a quite similar profile, especially if you do not have a high resolution image. So in my opinion it is a good choice.

  3. Javon
    July 2, 2016 at 11:12 pm

    How do I get a Toronto pin?

  4. Javon
    July 2, 2016 at 11:13 pm

    How do I get a Toronto pin??? It would be helpful to know I like them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

