Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > These Made Me Laugh Today: On Dating & Random Nintendo Awesomeness. Enjoy!

These Made Me Laugh Today: On Dating & Random Nintendo Awesomeness. Enjoy!


Today, as often happens during the day, I came across things on the interwebs that were just amazing and I reshared them in the usual places – Twitter, Facebook, and Google+. I realized, however, that I am leaving you guys on my blog out so I thought I would include all y’all tonight.

First up, we have some late 80’s original Nintendo awesomeness found on the streets of Hamilton, Ontario. My friend Corina aka @corecorina tweeted earlier today a tweet that came via a person named @jennabenda who I had never heard of until today. The image was titled – “Spotted this flyer in my hood” and it was on Twitpic. Corina’s tweet about it said she thought it was “So cute” so how could I not click? I don’t know if I agree that it’s ‘cute’ but then again Men are from Mars and all that jazz. Here’s what I was presented with when I clicked the link:

Legend of Zelda flyer via @jennabenda Spotted this flyer in my hood on Twitpic at http://twitpic.com/600mcf

@jennabenda: "Spotted this flyer in my hood" on Twitpic at http://twitpic.com/600mcf

That poster is just so much geek awesomeness I can’t even begin to describe it. If you were born in the late 90’s and beyond and are reading this you probably never had experience with the original “Legend of Zelda” game so this might mean very little to you. But for those of us old enough to remember playing Zelda on our old NES (That is pronounced “En, Ee, Ess” and it stands for Nintendo Entertainment System. Yes, I knew what the acronym stood for without looking it up but I did double-check) and going into random rooms or caves or huts in the journeys of the game and meeting “people” like this throughout Hyrule who would hook you up with awesome stuff such as the first sword (also known as the “Wooden Sword”) pictured above to aid you in your quest to save Princess Zelda from the evil Ganon.

I wonder if whoever posted that flyer posted more of them and if he or she is going to post subsequent ones.  @jennabenda tweeted at me that she like me and probably you is “hoping it’s a series,” and that her “[e]yes [are] peeled now” so check out her Twitter account and give it a follow if you want to see any new ones in the series if they are posted in Jenna’s neighborhood. The again, maybe this is the first (local) example of an IRL Meme and we will be seeing these popping up all around the world and then progressing in the series.

(Note: The acronym IRL mentioned above, stands for “In Real Life” and refers to the offline world when one is online.)

The other thing I have for you is from http://www.good.is/post/the-rules-of-realizing-you-re-on-a-date/.  I wish I could remember who originally shared it with me and on what platform but I really haven’t the foggiest notion as I write this. The picture is aptly called “The Rules Of: Realizing You’re On a Date” and it is meant to be rules for the ladies from the lady’s perspective (women are who the “you” in the title refers to). I had never heard of http://www.good.is/ before today but it looks like I may have to throw it into my RSS reader – GoogleReader – for future amusement. Here’s the graphic below.

The Rules Of Realizing You're On A Date (For Ladies) via http://www.good.is/post/the-rules-of-realizing-you-re-on-a-date/ What was even funnier was that when I posted it to Twitter I asked if anything like this actually ever happens and if it’s a common occurrence and according to the numerous ladies who answered it was a resounding yes.

Guys…all I have to say is: REALLY?!?!?!?! All it would take in this situation to at least clue the poor girl in is to say from the outset something like, “I have an extra concert ticket and I want to take you so we can spend time together, just the two of us.” Chances are pretty good she will understand what you mean by that. Of course, being more open and direct about it would be even better but those extra few words should be the LEAST of what you should do to make your intentions clear with your friend who you are now trying to turn to something more.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

