Home > Contemplations > Closet Organization & Figuring Out Which Clothes You Really Don’t Wear

Closet Organization & Figuring Out Which Clothes You Really Don’t Wear


clothing (shirts) hanging in closet

I think this has happened to a lot of us at one time or another. We look into our closet and it is stuffed with clothing. Sure a lot of the stuff is old but they all have their uses right? You’re totally going to wear that shirt again some time soon even though you can’t remember when the last time you wore it was, right? The truth is you probably won’t…unless you’re a certain lady named Jasmine.

Here’s the trick I used to great effect as of late to cull my closet’s herd and make room: Go through your closet and turn all your hangers around do the hook’s neck in the back of your closet rod. Whenever you wear a shirt or whatever article of clothing is hanging put it back in the closet (after it is washed, I hope!) so the hanger is facing the opposite direction which indicates it has been worn since you started your culling of the clothing herd.

clothing closet organization unworn hanger

The red circle indicates the hangers which have been turned around so the shirt is marked as "Unworn".

After about a year – or whatever time period you have decided on – take a look at your closet and see which clothes’ hangers are still not in the “Worn” position. Those that aren’t can be then donated or thrown away.

clothing closet organization worn hanger

The red circle indicates the hangers which have been turned around so the shirt is marked as "Worn".

Side Note: Some people commented on the shirt I wore and it’s ending in the video I made for the Mobilicity CEO Blogger Contest – this was a shirt that, when I was packing, I noticed it hadn’t been worn in quite a while so that is why it received the fate it did. It was either about to be donated to a secondhand clothing charity or thrown out (I can’t remember what it’s fate was to be before it got cast in my video).

  1. August 20, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    What a great idea, thanks for the visual on the closet organizing.

    • August 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      My pleasure! It really helped me when I recently moved. I was way more quickly able to sort through my clothing with a lot less emotion and more logic.

  2. Jon
    August 21, 2011 at 5:07 am

    you’re a good man mr. levy. good suggestion to make sure people donate to charity.

    • August 21, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Why thank you Jon. I try to encourage the best in folks and in myself.

  3. danah
    August 21, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I don’t use the hanger technique (which I like I might consider it for special attire) but every season I give whatever i did not wear that season to the goodwill. I guess because seasons are short I know if it was not worn. Special cases of course for more formal attire.

    • August 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      Wow, I couldn’t do it every season because I have multi-seasonal clothing – for me this is mainly a shirt thing. Also, there is no way I could keep track of which I wore & which I didn’t if I didn’t have some method of marking it. I simply wouldn’t remember when it came time to sift through haha.

  1. October 11, 2011 at 11:17 pm
  2. February 9, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Leave a Reply

