Home > Contemplations > 9/11 Ten Year Anniversary

9/11 Ten Year Anniversary


I have loved and always will love this picture of the heroes of the FDNY erecting a flag at Ground Zero

I have loved and always will love this picture of the heroes of the FDNY erecting a flag at Ground Zero. I don't know where it comes from but I used it last year in my 9/11 post as well.

This is a video that I found a little while ago and favorited on YouTube because it is so very powerful. The video uses images, footage, and audio from the reporting of the 9/11 attacks and overlaid on top of all of it is the band Live’s song Overcome – which came out on their album ‘V’ that year.

I remember finding a purely audio version of this in 2001-2002 when I was living in Manhattan and I would play it over and over again.  This is so powerful the song itself with just the 9/11 audio overlay that it always makes tears well up in my eyes.

Let us all never forget the heroes of 9/11/01.

From the 2,977 deaths (I don’t include the 19 hijackers) there were not 2,977 victims, there was 2,977 heroes in my books. Especially, we should all always remember the 343 FDNY who rushed into those burning buildings and never came back out, the 23 officers of the NYPD and 37 Port Authority Police Department officers, the 8 EMTs and paramedics from private emergency medical services units, and – last but certainly not least – the 40 passengers and crew on United Airlines Flight 93 who revolted against those terrorist bastards once they knew what was going on and made the plane crash in a field in Shanksville, PA. I fully believe the heroic 40 on Flight 93 made it into the cockpit and managed to kill some of those terrorists before they themselves perished when the plane crashed to the ground.

God Bless America.

  1. Eric
    January 10, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Very nice

    • January 11, 2012 at 1:26 am

      Thank you very much Eric.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

