Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > A Plate With A Wine Glass Holder, Talk About Genius Inventions!

A Plate With A Wine Glass Holder, Talk About Genius Inventions!


Last night, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I was at the 7th Annual Chilean Wine & Food Festival thanks to the folks over at Notable.ca. While I was there we were walking around the massive Peter F Bronfman hall with our rating book, a pen, our wine glass, and a plate of food. How the heck were we to carry all these items all at once? It was helped quite a bit by this genius invention I took a picture of and posted above.

I have no idea what this thing is called but I think that it is one of those things that you never think of until you see in real life and you think, “Holy crap! That is so genius, so simple, and so useful! Why didn’t I think of it?” This thing would be useful for parties at home or larger ones like the 7th Annual Chilean Wine & Food Festival and they probably cost next to nothing to manufacture. The only flaw I could see in the design was that if you tried to put your plate down with the wine glass attached you were sort of screwed. But aside from that – sheer brilliance!

Does anyone know what these things are called? I know my friend Meg who was with me at the event last night really wants to get some for herself. Maybe we should just go to a wine store and show them this picture and they’ll just know…maybe a party store will have them? Hmmmm….

UPDATE – October 2, 2011: 

After I posted this blog post and it got sent to my Twitter feed,  @Shoe_Mom aka Kim (Brown) Gaudet showed me that there exists an even more permanent – and way classier? – solution to this problem; the plate with the embedded cup holder! I have attached her pictures below along with a direct link to the tweet where she told me about it, and direct links to the yfrog pages where she put up the pics. (I have combined them into one picture because it is easier that way but they were originally two separate images. Thanks Kim!

Kim (Brown) Gaudet’s tweet to me http://twitter.com/#!/Shoe_Mom/status/119263300000288768

Wine glass holding plate: http://yfrog.com/z/khpldnoj

Wine glass being held in plate: http://yfrog.com/z/ny6ofcj

 

  1. September 29, 2011 at 8:29 am

    When I worked in the PR department at Mercedes, we had two full boxes of these things in storage. I was told I could take a bunch when I left but I completely forgot! I would totally have sent some to you.

  2. October 15, 2011 at 3:00 am

    This is an awesome invention! The wine glass looks secure you don’t even have to worry about it slipping.

    Regards,
    Hannah

    • October 16, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      They are pretty secure in there it is true. However, the “arms” of the plastic holster do not close completely so the glass is not completely secure in its grasp. Thanks so much for the comment.

  3. plastic wine glass
    September 26, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Hey just wanted too give you a brief heads up andd let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve
    tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

    • September 29, 2013 at 2:24 am

      They load fine for me and I have tried the latest version of Chrome and Internet Explorer.
      Without more detailed info from you I can’t really look into the issue.

      Also, and more importantly, I have taken the liberty of editing your name & removing the URL from it and from its link since I visited the site and it was full of ad spam. Because of this I am not sure if this is even a real comment but have decided to leave it up and address it with the minor alteration of removing the link so as to protect my readers but keep the discourse open. I welcome you replying and correcting my error, if any as well as giving me more info as to the nature of what is preventing you from loading images on this page.

      PS Is anyone else having issues loading the images or is “plastic wine glass” experiencing an isolated issue?

  4. March 7, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    • March 7, 2014 at 12:07 pm

      My blog’s website is levynewsnetwork.WORDPRESS.com …I don’t understand how you would have a question as to which platform I am using.

  5. vino
    July 25, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    Thank you for another wonderful post. The place else could anyone get that type
    of information in such an ideal method of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look
    for such information.

  1. October 2, 2011 at 4:26 am
  2. November 30, 2011 at 5:11 am

Leave a Reply

