Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Landscapes: Volume Two Arizona & Utah Desktop Wallpapers At 1920×1080

Landscapes: Volume Two Arizona & Utah Desktop Wallpapers At 1920×1080


This is one heck of a fantastic timelapse video called Landscapes: Volume Two made by @Dustin_Farrell and hosted on Vimeo – I have embedded the full video below. I found it via my friend Chris‘ (@cbrooker) share of this Gizmodo article – Is This the Most Amazing Time Lapse Video Yet? (Spoiler: It Is). As I watched it – and you really should, ideally in HD with a nice screen & with the music on – I realized that these scenes of Arizona and Utah would make superb desktop backgrounds so I started hitting the “pause” button on the video and the “PrntScrn” button and pasting the resulting image into Paint and you have the results below. (UPDATE July 16, 2012 9:05PM: Mr Farrell commented below [direct link] that he wanted the images taken down and I have done just that right as soon as I read his comment.)

I hope Mr. Farrell and the company he works for/made this video for – Crew West Inc – don’t mind my making these wallpapers as I am not benefiting from giving them out like this and am only spreading the word of their existence. (UPDATE July 16, 2012 9:05PM: Mr Farrell does mind and as such I have removed all the images. See comment below [direct link].)

Here is a link to Dustin Farrell’s Vimeo account http://vimeo.com/dustinfarrell and below check out the video I am talking about:

Landscapes: Volume Two from Dustin Farrell on Vimeo.

I have included a slideshow of the screenshots and this is mirrored below in the clickable 4 columns of images. (UPDATE July 16, 2012 9:05PM: Removed at Mr Farrell’s request. See comment below [direct link].)

And, as I mentioned above you can check out the gallery of screenshots I took of the video and out of which I made a series of 1920×1080 desktop wallpapers. Again, I hope Mr Farrell doesn’t mind. (UPDATE July 16, 2012 9:05PM: Mr Farrell does mind and as such I have removed all the images. See comment below [direct link].)

  1. October 15, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Very nice!

  2. October 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    does anybody know where i can download these videos please?

    • October 15, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Sorry, I don’t know how to do it but if you go to the Gizmodo article linked above I believe people were discussing how to do it.

  3. October 15, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Great video Dan. Saw it last week and thought it was awesome. As much as I hate to say it though, if it were my video and I’d found out you had screen capped and were distributing still images from it, I would be extremely upset. I understand that you’re not claiming them as your own, but outside of giving instructions on how to do it, you’re distributing a direct derivative of this person’s copyright without permission.

    • October 15, 2011 at 8:53 pm

      Thanks for the thoughts Mark.

      Are you saying that I should take it down and leave up the instructions for how I made the backgrounds and that’s OK?

      I don’t know the legality of it or not but I put links to his website (which he and his company should see as an incoming link) and I will, of course, take it down if he says to. As well, I am not making any money from his work or even my blog so all I am doing is helping spread the word of his work…which, from what I understand by reading the website, is the point of the video.

  4. July 15, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    You know, folks are copying the images from here and uploading them to other sites as wallpaper ,proclaiming them as their creations.. This is copyright infringement at it’s best. (or worst) The images are not yours to distribute and therefore do not belong here.

    • July 16, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      @Frankie: Thanks for the comment. I did not know that folks are doing that as I have not seen a link back which does that.

      As I mentioned in the post itself “I hope Mr. Farrell and the company he works for/made this video for – Crew West Inc – don’t mind my making these wallpapers as I am not benefiting from giving them out like this and am only spreading the word of their existence.” That quote says exactly what my intent was here, to spread the word of the existence of this video and other work by Dustin Ferrell and show how I made some beautiful wallpapers for myself out of it (which I still use on my computer to this day). I left the watermark on the wallpapers because, again, I am not trying to get anything out of this post or these wallpapers. I can’t really control what others do with the wallpapers and even if I took these down all it would take to reproduce would be hitting PrtScrn and pasting the results in Paint. If you, Frankie Ferrell, are a representative of Dustin Ferrell (and judging by your name there is a high chance of that) I would be only too happy to take the images down.

      I want to be clear that I made numerous efforts to reach out to Dustin about this post when I posted it originally by tweeting a link to him of this blog post and also including links to his company’s site, Crew West Inc, as well as to his Vimeo page. I don’t know how Vimeo pages work but I do know that Crew West Inc should have seen the link I posted in this post as an incoming link to their site and that was a further way for me to notify them of this. Again, no malicious intent was there in this posting and I will be glad to take the images down. However, as discussed in the above comments, I am not making any money from Dustin Ferrell’s work or even making any money from this blog so all I am doing is helping spread the word of Mr Ferrell’s work…which, from what I understand by reading the Vimeo website where the video was posted, is the point of the video.

      Again, if Dustin Ferrell wishes these images taken down he just has to say the word and I will do so immediately. No harm was meant by this post and I am truly sorry if this is how it was perceived.

      • July 16, 2012 at 4:01 pm

        Apparently you do not understand The concept of the DMCA copyright law. Converting something for your own personal use is one thing but redistribution is another. Be it for profit or not, it is the copyright holders option to choose where they wish their works distributed.not yours. I will leave any further action on this matter to the discretion of Dustin and CrewWest Inc.
        Regards

      • July 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm

        As I said, I meant no harm and did not intend to violate any laws. If the artist or their representative tells me to take it down, I immediately will.

        As well, although I am not a lawyer and do not know for certain how such things work, since I am in Canada I do not believe the DMCA applies to me. According to a quick look at Wikipedia’s entry on the DMCA the analogous bills in Canada to the DMCA are Bill C-60, Bill C-61, and Bill C-32 none of which have actually been passed into law as of yet.

        End of the day, I am a simple blogger who is not trying to step on any toes and doesn’t want to anger anyone. All the artist, their company, or their representative has to do is request I take it down if they are unhappy with the wallpapers and they will be taken down immediately. I don’t think that is unreasonable.

  5. July 16, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    What is copyright infringement?
    Copyright infringement occurs when a copyrighted work is reproduced, distributed, performed, publicly displayed, or made into a derivative work without the permission of the copyright owner.

    Posting copyright-infringing content can lead to monetary damages if a copyright owner decides to take legal action.

    Please remove everything!

    Thank you.
    Dustin Farrell and Crew West Inc.

  1. February 7, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

