Home > Contemplations > Dried Out Condiment On/In A Bottle’s Spout: One Of My Personal Pet Peeves

Dried Out Condiment On/In A Bottle’s Spout: One Of My Personal Pet Peeves


Before I start this post, two disclaimers:

  1. Yes, I am prepared for you to all call me crazy based on this pet peeve.
  2. I only chose to use the Lick’s Spicy Guk sauce bottle cap in the picture below because I happened to pull it out of the fridge and it happened to have a buildup from someone else. This happens on most condiment containers if you aren’t careful and is not specific to Lick’s’ containers. I also happen to love the stuff.

Bottle cap with dried out Lick's Spicy Guk condiment on both sides of it. Tell me that doesn't look disgusting and I'll call you a liar.

Ever since I can remember, I have hated to see dried out condiment on top of the bottle spouts. It actually disturbs me so much that I usually won’t even eat the condiment from the bottle unless I clean the cap with hot water first. I don’t know if I am alone on this but I just don’t want to be eating that crusted up condiment – which will very likely end up on my food when I squeeze the bottle upside down onto my food. As well, to me it just seems unsanitary. Think about it, that condiment or whatever is on the spout has been sitting there, drying out for who knows how long.

I have hated this kind of thing for as long as I can remember. In fact, I still recall years and years ago being at my friend and classmate Chaim’s house when I was in 4th or 5th Grade and his mother offered us chocolate milk with supper and asked me to get the syrup out of the cupboard. I grabbed the syrup out of the cupboard excited for chocolate milk but took a look at the bottle of the syrup changed all that. Once I had seen the cap I refused any chocolate milk because the cap had all this dried out chocolate syrup on and around it and it just completely disgusted me. The way I remember it, I then asked for soda with my supper and that request was rejected outright so I ended up drinking water. My mom recently has seen me cleaning a bottle cap of this build up and laughed saying she remembered when I came home from Chaim’s house and told her how repulsed I was by their chocolate milk syrup cap.

Maybe I am overly anal about his kind of thing, but I thought I would share it with the rest of you and see if anyone else shared this predilection. I think it is just a general desire for a sanitary kitchen environment. I also think that this kind of thing is so easily preventable (by not putting 3,000 lbs of pressure on the bottle when you squeeze some condiment out or with a napkin/tissue if you do get messy) and so easy to clean (with a relatively quick rinse in hot water) than why not do it? I hope I didn’t ruin condiment containers at friend’s houses for all of you now.

Am I alone on this or do you share this desire for bottle cap cleanliness? Let me know!

  1. December 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Dan, you’re definitely not alone- in the minority, sure- but I’m at least one other person who carefuly cleans “soiled” condiment caps; whether at a friend’s or a restaurant… I just think it’s lazy to leave that dollup of sauce on the brim or around the cap and neck of a bottle. Firstly, it is lazy/nasty to leave there… you wouldn’t eat it, so it shouldn’t be put back into the cabinet or fridge! Secondly, stray condiment gets on your hands, then your clothes, and in your eyes… BTW, it really annoys me when the build-up gets so bad that a container cap can’t even close… lol… Thanks for the break from condiment bottle searching. Great post.

  2. August 21, 2014 at 5:15 am

    Oh good, I thought I was the only one!! I think it’s so revolting, especially with stuff like salsa that comes in a big jar and it gets all crusty around the neck of the jar AND the inside of the lid form pouring it out. I regularly clean the sauce bottle after use because I don’t want them sitting in the fridge being nasty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

