Home > Life, The Universe, & Everything > Heart & Stroke Foundation Ontario: Heart and Soul Award Reception. Hooray @Shananigans5!

Heart & Stroke Foundation Ontario: Heart and Soul Award Reception. Hooray @Shananigans5!


Tonight, I am attending “The Heart and Soul Award” which is an award for people and groups who have ‘put their heart and soul’ into volunteering and/or supporting Heart and Stroke Ontario, and have ‘gone that extra mile’. They are specifically celebrating the contributions of their Toronto area event organizers and fund raisers who ‘bring heart to the health of Canadians.’

Before you ask, no I am not the one being honored, I am merely a +1, aka arm candy, of one of the recipients of this award – my friend, Shannon “@Shananigans5” Hunter.

Why is she getting this award? Well, you may recall back in February when I was auctioned off for charity by Shannon, as part of Social Media Week Toronto 2011 (a time when I was so busy with all the awesome I almost didn’t have time to blog).

Shannon "@Shananigans5

Well, it turned out that Shannon and her co-organizer for the #LoveAHeart event raised over $9,000! It also was the largest total amount raised by any Heart & Stroke Foundation event across the Greater Toronto Area!

I am very happy for Shannon so am glad to be joining her tonight and we all should be proud of her and all the work she’s been doing for charity. I already mentioned in my previous post about the auction (linked above) why this cause is so near and dear to my heart in particular and with people like Shannon leading the way (as well as “beefcakes” like me and beauties like the ladies at the event, willing to be auctioned off for charity) we will find ways to beat all these terrible maladies that afflict us as a race.

This, of course, goes to all the award recipients tonight, in years past, and in the future.

  1. October 26, 2011 at 9:38 am

    Thanks Dan! For coming with, for being amazing and for agreeing to let me auction you off again next year. I love you! xoxo

    • October 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm

      You’re most welcome Shan!

  1. November 30, 2011 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

