Home > Contemplations > Should Technology Be Leaving Seniors Behind?

Should Technology Be Leaving Seniors Behind?


New credit cards, as I am sure many of you have noticed, have done away with signing to approve your transaction. These days we all have credit cards with the chips where you have a PIN (Personal Identification Number) instead of signing a slip to approve the transaction. For most of us who are used to having debit cards this isn’t such a big shift from the norm but for senior citizens it is a completely different story. A lot of senior citizens have never used an ATM or had a debit card because they are used to just going to the teller when they need money. As well, many senior citizens – in my experience – are not really ones for learning new ways to do things.

Is it fair for us as a society to just leave our elderly citizens in the dust? I have heard of different senior citizens who because technology is advancing beyond their knowledge are being left behind and essentially can’t function by themselves. I am not, of course, talking about people who are losing their full mental faculties due to the ravages of age. I am talking about people who have lived successful and full lives and are still very independent and if all things remained the same they wouldn’t have any issues living without help from anyone.

I was raised to believe we should respect our elders but are we as a society respecting our elders? I completely understand the reason why credit cards have moved towards the chip and PIN technology, it is because of security. The problem is, again, that we might be leaving certain sectors of society behind and I just have to wonder, is that OK? What do you think?

  1. November 6, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I don’t think this change will leave seniors behind, you have to give them a little more credit. If explained to them once the chip and pin cards are very simple to use. If a senior doesn’t like it they can still go to a bank and withdraw money from a teller and pay with cash.

    • November 6, 2011 at 1:07 am

      I think it depends on the seniors. My grandparents have until this day absolutely refused the idea of an ATM. They become flustered with technology because they feel as if their lack of familiarity with it makes them less independent. I have spent many a minute trying to explain to other senior citizens how they can get to the higher channels with their Digital Boxes and for some reason, it still doesn’t penetrate. To you and I, Vince, the idea that you can push in 3 numbers to get to channel 158 versus 2 numbers to get to channel 32 on the remote seems simple. However, for whatever reason, for many seniors it is just something they cannot get through their heads – or, more importantly, remember it when the younger generations are not sitting there to guide them.

  2. November 6, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Best way to help senior citizen is they can send sms from their mobile and tell withdrawl amount to bank who should send a messenger to their door with payment. However when they can collect from door to door why can not disburse door to door to people.They can charge nominal fees also from clients.

    • November 6, 2011 at 9:10 pm

      @TrueTells thanks so much for the comment. I don’t know how many senior citizens you’ve dealt with or maybe you and I have had very different experiences with seniors but the ones I have spoken to have trouble with the concept of typing in a PIN instead of signing their names – an SMS is waaaaay beyond them. Heck, I have found that a lot of people of the Baby Boomer generation have problems with things like text messages – I don’t know why this is but they do. My mom – a Baby Boomer – is considered a tech wizard because she is one of the only one of her friends who knows how to turn her phone (and her friends phones) onto silent mode!

  3. November 27, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    A great post. Bookmark your page and will keep with me. Can I share your content on my blog with all your links intact. Wont change anything.

    • November 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      I would rather you didn’t. You can put a 2 or 3 line blurb with a link to my blog for the rest but I would appreciate if you didn’t copy/paste my content for your own site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

